Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-01-2011, 03:45 PM   #1
trailerthug

1972 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas
Solo new Streamer here! stripping????

Hi! I have my house on wheels! YAY! My dream since 19! It is a '73 Sovereign, in pretty good shape. I've been living in her here in ATX for a year this month with few problems. I am getting ready to strip the clear coat, and have been reading a lot on this topic. I am still unsure of the best way to start on the cheap. Can I go buy something from the local improvement store to get started? Any advice would be much appreciated. I am pretty crafty, but a total novice at upkeeping and improving an awesome Airstream! Learning something new everyday, and lovin' every minute of it! Thanks, y'all.
jenyonwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 03:55 PM   #2
x

XXXX , XXXX
Jenny welcome to the forums and congrats on getting your dream come true. I'm partial to 73's myself. My excella is basically the same as your sovereign with a few extras.
Is the clearcoat really bad on yours? The reason I ask is that unless you are going to polish it the shell will oxidize much faster with the clearcoat removed.
The best stripper to use is removall 220 available from VTS (Vintage Trailer Supply). It is non toxic and does a fantastic job to remove the clearcoat. It won't harm your plastic lenses or window glass. It also does not kill the grass and is not harmful to pets etc. It is also much safer for you to use, no gloves or masks needed.
I did mine with it and two gallons is how much you need.
Napier RemovAll 220 - 1 Gallon

It is a little pricey but worth it in saving effort and the safety factor.
Good Luck and post some pics so we can see your dream.
BTW is yours a rear bath or center bath?
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:02 PM   #3
trailerthug

1972 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas