Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Cleaning, Stripping & Polishing
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-14-2015, 07:55 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2018 19' Flying Cloud
Eugene , Oregon
Cleaning A New Airstream

I know this question has probably been answered somewhere in this forum - but as a newbie I'm getting lost in the variety of options. Here's my question. What is the best way to clean and / or polish my new 2015 Bambi Sport. Apparently there is a different technique ( or at least different materials used) if the trailer has a clear coat or not. How would I know if I have a clear coat finish? Is this something I would have paid extra for or do all new Airstreams have a clear coat finish? I guess once I know that, then I could look for what materials work best.
tjwoods1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 08:30 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2001 25' Safari
Ridgefield , Washington
Your 2015 Bambi has a clear coat finish as do all newer Airstreams. You'll get lots of input on personal preferences for cleaning and polishing. Here are my tips:

1. I use Meguiars Gold Class Car Wash to wash the exterior of the trailer. It's safe for clear coat finishes and unlike household dish soap, it won't strip the wax from the surface of your trailer.
2. I use Meguiars liquid Cleaner/Wax. It's also safe for clear coat finishes. It goes on easy and wipes off easy when dry.
3. I apply the wax with a Craftsman 10" orbital polisher/buffer using the replaceable blue pads made specifically for wax application. You can also apply the wax by hand, but it will take a lot more effort and you'll use more wax than needed when using a polisher/buffer.