Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-07-2023, 08:36 PM   #1
BML
1 Rivet Member

2024 28' Pottery Barn
FRESNO , CA
Awnings during exterior wash

During exterior washing what do ASrs do with awnings during wash? I dont want/ need my awnings clean, but Im going to wash and polish exterior. Thanks to you all, Im a newbie and have leaned a lot.
BML is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2023, 11:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2020 25' Globetrotter
Santa Rosa , California
If the awnings themselves don't need to be cleaned, which in my case would be rare since they aren't deployed that often, I leave them rolled up while I wash the rest of the trailer. After washing, I extend them for a while to let them air dry in case any portion of the fabric has gotten damp.

2020 25' Globetrotter Twin | 2024 GMC Sierra 2500HD Denali Ult. 4x4 Duramax
400Ah Battle Born lithium battery string | 580W solar (400W roof 180W portable)
mikeinca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2023, 03:50 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 22' Safari
Spicewood (W of Austin) , Texas
I leave the awning retracted if it isn’t also being cleaned. No problems in 9 years. I do clean the awning semi-annually following Zip-Dee’s advice, and use a dry-lube aerosol on the arms and mechanism.
Boxite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2023, 08:07 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2018 30' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Ohio
I leave my awnings closed during washing as others have stated above, however, I extend the main awning after washing to dry the strip under the awning that is covered when rolled up. Otherwise, you'll find a small strip that is water spotted under the awning when it's unrolled in a campground. The side and rear awnings don't have the problem.
Old 12-08-2023, 08:57 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington