Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-25-2014, 07:56 AM   #1

Streamline restoration

I'm new to all of this and I need help. I bought a 1972 streamline crown imperial. At least that's what I think it's called. I love projects, and this is by far my biggest one ever. It's not in horrible shape at all and there's only a few bad places in the floor. But my question to anyone that has restored a streamline is ...... How did you seal the vents behind the refrigerator that go straight outside???? There are 2 vents I'm assuming were for the original (propane?) refrigerator. I live in Oklahoma and the winds are terrible. Especially during a storm. And the rain is flying in. But during the winter especially that wind blows straight in from outside. They're put in with rivets and I don't really want to have to take it off and reattach it. I know I'm probably not speaking in technical terms for those of you more seasoned. Lol. But it's the only way I know how to explain it. I have them sealed with duct tape and plastic right now but I need something permanent! And not trashy! And I also am going to reseal everything. Should I use clear silicone caulking or is there something better? Like I said This type of restoration is all brand new to me. Any help would be appreciated!! Thanks in advance!
Jamielee25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 12:37 PM   #2
Wise Elder

2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
If you wish to remove and seal the refrigerator vents, you would be best off removing the rivets and riveting in a patch. If you use Olympic rivets, it's not difficult and doesn't require special tools (if you use a file or cutoff wheel instead of the shaver).