Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2015, 06:36 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
store / use button not working

Ok, so the first time ever I used the store / use button -

Parked in my driveway to unload some gear. Batteries are charged and working fine. Meter reads 12.3 volts

I clicked STORE - red light went out as expected.
I clicked USE some 1 to 2 hours later, and nothing.

Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 07:57 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
richw46's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,742
Images: 6
You don't have any lights on in the trailer in the 'use' position? There's no DC anything that's working? If so, when you set it to 'use' do you hear a click sound? That's the relay engaging.
__________________

__________________
-Rich

Rich & Yvonne
2006 Safari SE -Dora-
2004 4Runner SE
Most of us don't know exactly what we want, but we're pretty sure we don't have it. -Alfred E. Neuman
richw46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 08:14 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
no click, no lights, no red light, just nothing
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 08:45 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
grizbear's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
Crestview , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Batt disconnect

Could be one of five things a fuse what is called solenoid, the switch it's self or the converter and last a wire short. The switch is easy to replace and cheap. The solenoid is about $100.00 also easy to replace. If it's the converter it would be a good time to up grade to a three stage converter/charger for just a little more than a standard converter/charger. I would check all fuses first. Good camping Rand
grizbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 09:06 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
Yeah, I just have no idea which of these it could be.

The batteries were at 12.3 when I flipped it off. The trailer is brand new, we just brought it home.

I called airstream and they stated the batteries could just simply be too low - but the LP detector light is still on and the jack runs up and down.

They asked me to plug into power then check it out again.

My storage only has courtesy 110 - but that should at least be able to make the button click.

Any recommendation on the brand and model of the three stage charger? I'm interested in this.
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 09:32 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
richw46's Avatar
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Lexington , Kentucky
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,742
Images: 6
15-20 amp service will be enough for everything except the air conditioner. I plug mine in at the house and there's no issue. If it's new the best thing is to take it back for warranty service.

When you plug up to the 110-20 amp service the red light should come on, regardless of the 'use' switch position. Try switching between 'use/store' and listen for the relay to click. If you still don't get a click either the relay has failed or it's not getting any power so that it can engage. On mine, there are fuses located in the same area as the relay. Use a multi-meter or test light to check those fuses, maybe one has blown. That area is very difficult for me to get to, hopefully, yours is easier. . There are several different kinds of fuses, ATC automotive type and cartridge fuses. DISCONNECT THE BATTERIES or you may short out a good fuse. (Ask me how I know.) Some of those cartridge fuses are fairly expensive, like $30-60.

If the relay doesn't come on you should still have power to the lights, microwave, Fantastic Fan, etc. I don't think it will charge the batteries unless the 'use' relay is engaged. If the converter is working it will provide the power necessary to engage the 'use' relay.

If your converter has failed, see if you can upgrade to a better one and just pay the difference. I upgraded mine to Progressive Dynamics (PD4655V) 55 Amp Converter/Charger with Built-In Charge Wizard.
__________________
-Rich

Rich & Yvonne
2006 Safari SE -Dora-
2004 4Runner SE
Most of us don't know exactly what we want, but we're pretty sure we don't have it. -Alfred E. Neuman
richw46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:15 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
UGH just lost my WHOLE reply... frustrating.

TLDR: Don't have correct adapter yet to step down to 120 outlet. Will obtain, try on extension cord at storage.

Access to goods under bed very limited, didn't have time to gain proper access. All appeared in good order.

Switch itself appears a little shaky (flakey).

Will look into progressive, like their brand.
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:25 PM   #8
Home of Vortex tuning
 
CDONA's Avatar
 
2013 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Spearfish , South Dakota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 604
Images: 10
My switch broke within a couple of months use, I checked battery terminals, cables at the solenoid, the fuses at the solenoid terminals, and 12v fuses. I told my service writer of what I checked, and suspected the switch itself, it just felt broken.
It would switch off all day long (audible snap) but never on.
They confirmed with a new switch, that fixed it.
__________________
"Chip Tank" is in Morro Bay Ca.
CDONA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:32 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
helotes , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 16
I had a very similar thing happen to my 2004 19 footer. It was the solenoid. Easy fix for a DIY job. Not too expensive at any RV repair place. Good luck...
aldamiani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:27 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
m.hony's Avatar
 
2013 30' Classic
Greenwood , Mississippi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12,111
Seems like the switch itself is bad.
__________________
2013 Classic 30 Limited
2007 Silver Toyota Tundra Crew Max Limited 5.7 iForce
2006 Vivid Black Harley-Davidson Road King Classic
1999 Black Nissan Pathfinder LE
TAC #MS-10
WBCCI #1811, Region 6, Unit 56
Airforums #70955
m.hony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:57 PM   #11
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
I could easily just try another switch... if putting power on the unit doesn't work, I'll replace the switch, should be a simple diy thing and see if that helps.
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 02:06 PM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
Anyone know how to find one of these swtiches... I know it's a common switch, but I'm just not sure what they are called.
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 02:20 PM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
grizbear's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
Crestview , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Batt disconnect

My light was not working a month or two ago its was a loose wire at the solenoid it could also be a loose connector at the switch. The converter/charger I installed was a progressive dynamics PD4655 it works great plug in camper to a 110 volt outlet and turn the batt disconnect switch to use even if the light is already on, and it keeps the batteries well maintained. You stated your batteries read 12.3 volts that is near the low end don't let them get below 12.15 volts or they will be damaged. Full charge is in the 12.75 to 12.9 range. If your camper is new I would return to dealer for repairs. Good luck Rand
grizbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 02:34 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
grizbear's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
Crestview , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Battery disconnect switch

Its easy to pull 4 screws then a plug with three wires (I think 3) take it with you to your local RV repair center I was surprised my local RV shop had one in stock we tried that first then found the loose wire at the solenoid. Was glad I removed the sofa and replaced it with two la-z-boys just pulled the back off the la-z-boy and the cover over the solenoid. Good luck Rand
PS: there is also a fuse at the solenoid
grizbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 05:56 PM   #15
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
Yep, I have an appt with my favorite RV place in Houston, and they say that if I notify airstream first I could get reimbursed. The local dealer isn't someone I want to do business with.

I can't figure out how they arrived at 12.3 so quickly.

I was at a park in Louisiana, plugged in for days - I drove 7 hours home with the fridge on propane, and that night they were at 12.3. I ran the fans and lights while we unpacked, ~ 3 hours. The net morning we went to unload the fridge, and the meter still read 12.3
We unloaded the fridge, turned it off, hit the store switch.

So what boggles me is that in a 7 hour drive, the batteries went from fully charged to 12.3, yet over night and after 3 or 4 hours of battery use, the next morning, the level didn't drop at all.
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 06:39 PM   #16
3 Rivet Member
 
grizbear's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
Crestview , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Batt level

What are you using to check the batteries? You need a good quality multimeter one of those $30.00 jobs will not give you repeatable readings I bought a Klein about $100.00 at home depot, fluke is the other brand you can depend on they run $160.00 and up. If you are going to be an airstream camper for a good while it pays to have a good multimeter. Keeping batteries maintained is not hard but does require keeping an eye on there state of charge. It took me two sets of batteries to learn the proper battery care. I got 4.5 yrs out of the last set and they were cheap ones from auto zone I now have two 6volt golf cart batteries run in series they are great with the new 3 stage converter/charger I have about 30% more battery capacity and I can leave it plugged in and not worry about over charge. Prior to the converter/charger install I used a portable 3 stage charger works well but a hassle to do and keep an eye on weather. Good camping Rand
grizbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 08:39 PM   #17
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
I was going off the meter on the control panel inside the airstream
__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 08:51 AM   #18
3 Rivet Member
 
grizbear's Avatar
 
2004 25' Safari
Crestview , Florida
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 162
Voltage meter

Those meters they put in AS's are a gross measurement won't give you an accurate measurement like a quality multimeter. Like I said before if you will be camping long term you will use it quite often. I also have a plug in A/C voltage meter I plug in an outlet check it after plugging in at campground then turn on the AC to see if the voltage drops under a load. $15.00 at camping world before that early in my camping days had a converter burn up due to open lead at a campground power pole almost lost camper and my dog. Walked in just as it was starting to smoke. Lucky that day but still cost $400.00 to repair. Lesson learned 11.5 yrs of camping you pick up a lot of those most the hard way. Good camping Rand
grizbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 09:21 AM   #19
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 25' FB International
Metuchen , New Jersey
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 111
Your 2015 trailer is under a 2yr warranty and any part not working will be replace free of charge. If the dealer you purchased from is far from you they can always send out the replacement part.
GenXair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2015, 08:05 AM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
Plasma800's Avatar
 
houston , Texas
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 403
Finally had a chance to run out there with an extension cord. I plugged the unit in and immediately had a red light at the STORE/USE button.

Relay clicked in both directions of the switch, and the battery meter inside read 13.4.

I unplugged the unit, put it back into store mode.
__________________

__________________
'15 27fb Signature
'12 Chevy 2500HD Gasser
Plasma800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do you store your hitch when not in use? cantdrv55 Hitches, Couplers & Balls 25 09-05-2015 07:03 PM
Use or Store button(Batteries/Shorepower Devoman Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 4 09-26-2010 10:18 PM
Use/Store Button, Assistance THEPILL 2006 - 2010 International 6 04-06-2010 08:56 PM
Go to last post button not working yukionna Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 6 09-05-2007 04:41 PM
"Store-Use" SWitch Rleirer 2003 Safari 10 04-17-2003 02:07 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.