Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-28-2022, 07:13 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2023 27' Globetrotter
Winder , Georgia
Shower Vent Screen Removal

First Trip out in a few months and I noticed that the vent fan in the shower would not turn when the button was pressed. Upon further inspection I noticed a mud dauber next on the side of the housing was preventing the fan from turning. How that happened I have no idea because to my knowledge the vent had been pulled closed. Anyway to fix the problem I will have to remove the screen, I know you have to take the plastic handle off. However when I pulled the handle all the way closed, it still does not extend far enough below the trim of the housing to access the screws on the side of the handle. Any Ideas?
Bcc75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2022, 10:01 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2023 27' Globetrotter
Winder , Georgia
I’m looking at this again, is the white trim piece held on with 3 screws removable? That appears that may be enough room to get access to the handle screws with a right angle screwdriver. Or am I wrong?
Old 08-28-2022, 11:35 AM   #3
Escape Pod II

2022 23' Flying Cloud
2018 22' Sport
Orange , Texas
Can you see the nest clearly? Can you spray it with a water hose to wash it out of there or break it apart with a long probe?
Old 08-28-2022, 11:39 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2023 27' Globetrotter
Winder , Georgia
From below , no. I really need to get the screen off to clean it properly
Old 08-28-2022, 01:31 PM   #5
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Missouri Valley , Iowa