Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-19-2015, 11:39 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2007 25' International CCD FB
Somewhere in , Texas
"Prodigy" Brake Controller Blew Fuse on VW Touareg???

I am a newby and this is my first time posting. I am on the road soloing full time. I am stranded here at a campground in Texas until I can get this sorted out. I went to get my 2007 International 25FB inspected so that I could get it registered in Texas. I was surprised that the hazard lights and turn signals were working, but not the brake lights. I was told by the RV place that installed the Prodigy, that since I am on my own, as long as I check the hazards and turn signals before I depart each time, the brakes lights will be working too. It is very likely that I drove for five days from Chicago to Texas with no working brake controller. :-/

After much trouble shooting with the RV dealer that installed the Prodigy, and the VW dealer (both in Chicago) that installed my tow package, as well as the Texas mechanic who inspected it, I was able to surmise that the issue is most likely a blown inline fuse. After more research, I discovered that the battery for my 2012 VW Touareg is under the driver's seat, and in order to get to the battery for the inline fuse to be checked, three compartments have to be removed to get to it. The inline battery itself costs $100. The VW mechanic said it would cost $300 to replace the inline battery, plus more if they find other stuff wrong.