Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2021, 08:30 PM   #1
Advocate28
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Sheboygan , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Problem with Dometic AC

Hi all— I am at an RV park and am having problems with my AC. I am on day 3 of the trip and it worked fine until now. It is 90 degrees, but down to 70’s tonight so I’m fine die now. But tomorrow I’m heading to the dessert for 10 days and no AC would be unfortunate. I’m at a well-maintained, updated RV park, so I don’t think they are the problem. I flipped the circuit breaker on and off, though there did not seem to be a problem there. I checked the outside connection, all seems fine. I shut the thermostat off and restarted several times. Any other ideas?
Elizabeth28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 09:01 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member
 
2015 25' Flying Cloud
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 103
If you cycle the thermostat to fan or heat pump, do either of those options work?
McStreamy_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 09:04 PM   #3
Advocate28
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Sheboygan , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Trying to attach some photos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FBDC911D-BE60-49FE-B5A4-BADAB584FF35.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	309.0 KB
ID:	397168   Click image for larger version

Name:	9758151D-4BDD-43D8-9E8B-A52CDE20331F.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	468.5 KB
ID:	397169  

Click image for larger version

Name:	0D698F57-4A61-4C58-A2FF-4DFDE6D18B7A.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	393.2 KB
ID:	397170   Click image for larger version

Name:	90BE7B8E-5961-4A98-A9EA-7CC8BE5A1BDC.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	309.0 KB
ID:	397171  

Click image for larger version

Name:	47F47456-7972-46A0-8E00-634474826253.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	222.3 KB
ID:	397172   Click image for larger version

Name:	C22A1994-508D-426B-841C-B8130089F9DC.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	468.5 KB
ID:	397173  

Click image for larger version

Name:	16E62F1A-CB7C-4EA2-AA62-5537C0499D4D.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	393.2 KB
ID:	397174  
Elizabeth28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2021, 09:16 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,001
Images: 1
E1 means the thermostat / controller (in your picture) is not communicating with the AC unit up top.

This is typically due to a loose wire. The wire in question look like a good old telephone cable with 4 wires in it and plastic connector on the end.

First step in troubleshooting is to gently unclip / pull the thermostat off the wall (it is just clipped on) and make sure the wires in the back are firmly seated / connected....
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 02:13 AM   #5
Advocate28
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Sheboygan , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
No, I can’t get those to work.
Elizabeth28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 04:11 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Foiled Again's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,468
27 ft.
Do you have 1 or 2 air conditioners.?
If 2, try running only 1 at a time - switch zones and test each. Also reset ALL the breakers which requires that you push them completely OFF (down hard) Then back up. Test and reset the GFCI breaker in the bathroom too.

Next, I agree the phone wire is the likiest target. There are 3 places where it can be messed up:
- behind the thermostat
- in the furnace area
- under the Air Conditioner cover

The furnace is easy, just open the outside cover and check by pushing it in and reseating it. Ditto for behind the thermostat. The A/C is less fun. The inside cover is held on by screws, which are up IN the grid of the cover. You may have to pull the filters to find the last ones. There will be 6 or more. I have to stand on a folding stool to get to mine. Once you have the cover off, look for the phone wire. Odds are it has fallen into a drain cup and has gotten the connection wet and shorted out. Get it thoroughly dry, then reconnect and test the A/C. Before you close it back up, keep the phone cord from falling back down by using a couple of small cable ties (or plastic twist ties from a loaf of bread) to tie the cable to the frame of the A/C. It is a good idea to use shrinkable wire connectors over that connection too, if you have any. (This problem has been known for years... why that wire is not tied up at the factory I will never know).

Oh, while you are at it, remove, clean and reinstall the filters frequently. You'll improve the A/C performance a lot. AND make sure the A/C drain is working. (A tube drips water out of the roadside wheel well when it is running, and when it stops, the tube will pee it out for a moment or two. The tube gets dust and mold in it and needs to be cleared. Use a wet dry vacuum to suck out the hose. You can use your fingers around the hose to half way seal the end of the vacuum hose to the drain hose, or block the vacuum hose with a fast food drink cover and use a straw (hold onto it) thru the opening to fit into the drain hose. Using a straw and lid can clean out sliding door tracks, fan lint from slots in the cover or even computer keyboard cheetos, etc. If you are brave and fast you can use just a straw in your mouth to suck the drain hose out... but be quick, yuck can happen.
__________________
Today is a gift, that's why they call it the present.
Foiled Again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:37 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
bobmiller1's Avatar

 
2005 34' Classic S/O
2006 39' Land Yacht 396 XL
north blenheim , New York
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,539
Ah.....the old E1 fault code. The dometic help line is of no help.....useless as a matter of fact. If you are connected to shore power, disconnect, then proceed. Make sure you shut all zones off on the thermostat, then shut the thermostat off itself which is the top left button. Re-connect to shore power, then turn the thermostat back on, then select one zone and set to AC, you should see a hour glass, wait a couple of mins, then the AC should come on. If this works remember to shut the thermostat off before you disconnect from shore power or else you will encounter the same problem again. Regards, Bob P.S. let me know if this works for you.
bobmiller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:26 AM   #8
New Member
 
DaleW2's Avatar
 
2020 28' International
Aiken , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
My 'E1' ended up being a loose wire up under the shroud. It was evidently a spade connector that the holding screw had loosened up. I had already checked everything inside and in back of the vents and found nothing. The service guy (John's RV in Lexington SC) climbed up his ladder, loosened the 4 retaining screws of the shroud and noticed something sparking! Covered under warranty but I had to fight to get them to look at it during my appointment time.

Dale
2020 28' International Serenity RBT
Dual AC
Dual Solar
DaleW2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 09:52 AM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
1977 31' Sovereign
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Bartlett , TN
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 37
There have been problems with the sensor getting wet from condensate in the pan. Since it worked for a couple of days, then quit it could be a similar moisture problem as posted by Spartanguy a few months ago. Search "32 degree problem" in Air Forum at the top of your post a little right of center. Even if this is not your current problem, it will contain information that may be valuable to you in the future.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.
jsaucier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 11:54 AM   #10
Airstream Ambassador
 
AirstreamInc's Avatar
 
Jackson Center , Ohio
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 706
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elizabeth28 View Post
Hi alló I am at an RV park and am having problems with my AC. I am on day 3 of the trip and it worked fine until now. It is 90 degrees, but down to 70ís tonight so Iím fine die now. But tomorrow Iím heading to the dessert for 10 days and no AC would be unfortunate. Iím at a well-maintained, updated RV park, so I donít think they are the problem. I flipped the circuit breaker on and off, though there did not seem to be a problem there. I checked the outside connection, all seems fine. I shut the thermostat off and restarted several times. Any other ideas?
Hi Elizabeth28,*

We're very sorry to learn about the issue you are having. Please send us a direct message with your contact information, email and the last 6 digits of your VIN so we can share it with our Customer Service and Technical Support team. We look forward to helping you get this resolved.

You can also reach Airstream Customer Service and Technical Support at*customersupport@airstream.com

Thank you.*
__________________
Official account for Airstream, Inc.
Airstream Customer Service and Technical Support can be reached at 1 (877) 596-6111, option 1.
AirstreamInc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 02:17 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
bobmiller1's Avatar

 
2005 34' Classic S/O
2006 39' Land Yacht 396 XL
north blenheim , New York
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,539
Oh goodie ! Airstream technical support is here to helpÖÖget ready to start pulling your trailer apart to check things out ! Good Luck, Regards, Bob
bobmiller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:05 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
banderabob's Avatar
 
2008 19' Bambi
2012 23' Flying Cloud
2016 25' Flying Cloud
Bandera , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 630
I don’t have the manual with me, but have you tried to reset the CCD? I think there are 2 or three of the panel buttons you press at the same time. Worth trying.
banderabob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:23 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Golden , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 59
I had this issue too. In my case it was indeed the phone wires - however, the connectors had enough moisture and whatever else, that the wire inside the connector had corroded, and also corroded the phone line connector.

I have the 30' bunkhouse. The corroded phone wires were in the aft AC unit, near our fridge.

My fix was new connectors and newly terminated ends with the 4-wire phone jack (RJ11) and a TON of dielectric grease to make sure it never happens again.

This was an annual thing when we came out to the midwest. I replaced circuit boards on each unit, and the controller on the wall. The moment I took apart the wiring - the first step I SHOULD have done - the problem was obvious and it has been 100% ever since the fix as you would expect.

I hope this helps - check those wires first!
bbdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 12:57 PM   #14
Advocate28
 
2020 27' Flying Cloud
Sheboygan , Wisconsin
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 42
Thanks everyone. I went through Bob's steps. Error message went away and AC worked for the night. Then it went out this morning while microwave was running. E7 this time, which I know is no 120 power. I disconnected shore power and battery. Checked circuit breakers; AC breaker was tripped. I reconnected. Still no AC . I will check wires now. It's about 120 degrees in there. Dogs are in the truck with AC.
Elizabeth28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 01:30 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,019
Blog Entries: 1
Unless you have a 50 amp trailer you cannot run the AC and the microwave at the same time. My microwave actually draws more power than the AC. Do you have a 30 amp or a 50 amp trailer?
Bill M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 02:16 PM   #16
Site Team
 
wulfraat's Avatar

 
2017 30' International
Broomfield , Colorado
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,001
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elizabeth28 View Post
Thanks everyone. I went through Bob's steps. Error message went away and AC worked for the night. Then it went out this morning while microwave was running. E7 this time, which I know is no 120 power. I disconnected shore power and battery. Checked circuit breakers; AC breaker was tripped. I reconnected. Still no AC . I will check wires now. It's about 120 degrees in there. Dogs are in the truck with AC.
Per the previous post, you cannot operate the AC and Microwave at the same time on a 30A trailer. Go to your electrical panel, and reset the breaker. Reset the breaker outside at the electrical pole as well if needed. You will be back up and running.

Don't run both at the same time you will overload the circuits in the airstream
wulfraat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 09:37 AM   #17
New Member
 
CarneyIdaho's Avatar
 
2018 26' Flying Cloud
Eagle , Idaho
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
Dometic quirks

Hopefully you got the wrinkle sorted out by now but I experienced a similar challenge.
Solution:
I disconnected the 50amp power for about five minutes and let everything - rest.

Seemed to have corrected itself.

Good luck!
CarneyIdaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 09:38 AM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Flying Cloud
Orange Beach , Alabama
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 38
Strange, but it was the breaker

Our, then new, 2018 FC 27’ developed an E-1 notification on the thermostat. After trying to find a loose wire we replaced the breaker ( easy to do after finding a replacement breaker at Camper World) and the problem, at least for us went away. The explanation we were given was that the breaker connection was weak.
robertwarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 10:27 AM   #19
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 27' Flying Cloud
Orange Beach , Alabama
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 38
PS: We also installed easy start systems on both air conditioners. We plan to travel West this year and the addition of the easy starts will lower the start up amps. We are currently in Melbourne, FL and they are working as advertised. I installed them myself using the easy to follow instructions. Safe travels!
robertwarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 10:45 AM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
2017 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
CANON CITY , Colorado
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertwarren View Post
PS: We also installed easy start systems on both air conditioners. We plan to travel West this year and the addition of the easy starts will lower the start up amps. We are currently in Melbourne, FL and they are working as advertised. I installed them myself using the easy to follow instructions. Safe travels!
X2 on easy start
Blazeman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic 75 - RM77 : Problem with how to... dufferin Refrigerators 7 07-02-2013 10:30 AM
Condensation problem...big problem MonaxLisa General Repair Forum 16 10-31-2010 10:00 PM
dometic fridge problem nightowlhooter1 Refrigerators 27 08-19-2006 05:06 PM
Silly Dometic refrigerator "problem" Toasty's Dad Refrigerators 0 12-20-2005 07:19 PM
Battery problem or converter problem Paul Daugherty Airstream Motorhome Forums 31 07-01-2003 06:16 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.