Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-07-2008, 05:35 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Gilmanton Ironworks , New Hampshire
new to forum/new to everything

Hi,

I'm about to buy a mostly original 1958 Avion (if it checks out on second go over) and am looking for vintage trailer folks in NH who can recommend possible repair people who are excited about old stuff. I'm not looking for a big renovation at this point, as I hope to learn and do as I go along, but I am new to all this and will need guidance on stoves, furnaces, and the like sooner than later.

On the suggestion of a friend I went over to a RV sales and repair place yesterday and the person I talked with was obviously not knowledgeable about and not interested in older trailers. I think he said, "It will be a nightmare..." or some such thing. So I'm looking for suggestions in the Gilmanton/Laconia area of folks who might be good to contact.

Like many almost 60, single women who want to travel in a vintage trailer, I'm curious, have lots of questions, and am willing to learn from people who know more than I do. And it looks to me like you all do!!!!

1. Any suggestions?
2. Should I be posting this on Vintage Kin rather than here?
3. Thanks for all the great stuff I've learned reading here already. I'm impressed.

Patti
awayhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 05:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1972 25' Tradewind
North Vancouver , British Columbia