Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-17-2021, 09:32 AM   #1

2019 16' Sport
Seven Hills , Ohio
Lock on Rear Cargo Door "Frozen"

Hello - Newbie here... Looking for some insight. I have a 2019 16' Bambi. One of the locks on the rear cargo door will not unlock. I can see it engaged through the interior cargo doors, but it's stuck. Has anyone had this issue, or am I overlooking something? Seems so simple...

Thanks so much!!
Eric
ohiodeziner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2021, 03:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums!

Does it "jiggle" with the key in the lock? What I am getting at, is is the lock corroded so badly that the key won't turn, or is there some other mysterious reason why it won't turn. I am not sure why this would happen, but maybe a previous owner (if there was one) had to replace that one lock, and now it is keyed differently from all the rest...

Or...Maybe some would-be thief stuck a screwdriver in your keyhole and tried to force the lock, but only succeeded in wrecking it so it doesn't work anymore.

Anyway, if you can see the interior "latch" that keeps the door closed, it is usually held in place by a single nut. Reach in there with a ratchet extension, remove the nut, and the hatch will come open. You can then disassemble the lock and see what is going on.

good luck!
Belegedhel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2021, 09:44 AM   #3

2019 16' Sport
Seven Hills , Ohio
Thanks so much.. it does not jiggle or anything - i'm able to see the lock, so i'm going to attempt to access it thru the camper. Thanks so much for responding and the heads up on the info on the nut and removing that. I'll be trying that!