Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-15-2004, 08:34 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Send a message via AIM to BurnBound
It's gutted, now what?

Hi!
I have a 1972 Ambassador that I have had to remove most of the interior of due to rodent damage, and general disrepair. I'm not looking for a full restoration. i would like to redo the interio to be as comfortable, useable and durable as possible.

I am considering taking off the walls and replacing the insulation, as the interior smells like rodents.

Here are pictures: [no longer available]

Thanks for any advice!

Caroline
BurnBound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 08:47 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2021 27' Globetrotter
Saint Louis , Missouri
Look at what Ron & Tony have done at [no longer available]

They came up with some really neat ideas for the same issues you are having.

Dennis
cosmotini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 08:48 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2021 27' Globetrotter
Saint Louis , Missouri
Sorry, I forgot to welcome you to the fourms!
cosmotini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 09:10 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Welcome to the forums Caroline.

The photo's don't look so awful as you think. There are a lot of folks here that are full of ideas to help you out, and the best part is that they all are willing to say something to help you.

The hitch don't look like it needs to be replaced, but it needs to be cleaned, sanded, hit with a rust inhibitor, and repainted. The stove top can be refinished, but I advise that you have that done professionally. If your bathtub is shody looking after you clean it up you can have that refinished by a professional too.
You can do a search for the doors for the cabinets on ebay or if your willing you can make them yourself. I can tell you how to do that if you're interested.