Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-04-2014, 10:52 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

I am about to buy a 1969 Airstream Sovereign ...need advice before purchase

I am extremely new at purchasing a trailer, I would like this to be a fun project. I fell in love with the airstreams and found one that I could defiantly see myself owning. A few concerns the hitch and frame has rust on the outside. Doesn't look like it has made its way through. A lot of vintage airstream pictures seem to have this rust on the hitch. Should I be worried? Or is it an easy fix? Also the metal frame that holds up the step to enter into the airstream does have rust. This has made some holes. That part seems like I can attach a new step and it will be fixed completely. Any advice? Thank you
Basilou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 11:19 PM   #2
1 Rivet Member

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1412486297.182460.jpg
Views:	222
Size:	677.2 KB
ID:	223625Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1412486324.841999.jpg
Views:	248
Size:	716.1 KB
ID:	223626Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1412486353.913588.jpg
Views:	305
Size:	424.4 KB
ID:	223627

The pictures of the rust on the frame...
Old 10-05-2014, 07:04 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1967 30' Sovereign
Chiefland , Florida
Is it a rear bath? Can you weld, and can you do a shell off restoration, and have a place to do it? The rust under the step is a indicator of what is going on with the frame above the belly pan. Looks like a project. Will need a new set of axles if they have not been replaced in the last 20 years. How is the floor, any rot or patches? Good luck-Rolland

Sent from my iPad using Airstream Forums
Rolland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 02:56 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter