Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-23-2014, 09:36 PM   #1
Living Riveted

2014 19' Flying Cloud
Carnegie , Pennsylvania
Help a newbie! Popped rivets on interior roof and side...

Newbie here...I just traveled across the us in my new 2014 19' Flying Cloud. Upon arrival, I found 2 rivets on the floor inside the AS (not the whole rivet more like the head that got sheared off). Should I be concerned? Is this normal? We have had some light rain here in Teton and haven't seen any sign of water in the AS, but I assume rivets from the interior are not going directly to the outside shell of the AS...true?

In general, looking for guidance on how common this is, if it's a big deal, how to get fixed, etc.

Thanks!
Arnoldjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 09:46 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
Hopkins , Minnesota
Airstreams are built to flex. If you get enough flexing, you're bound to find some popped rivets. Interior rivets do not go though the outer shell...and visa versa. The rivets you found inside probably hold interior skins together or cabinets to wall, etc. The question is how much is too much? If you are getting that much shaking, rattling and rolling going on, then you have to ask about your running gear, tire pressure, road conditions, tow vehicle, hitch system....all can be factors when it comes to beating up your Airstream...
arktos55343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 10:03 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona