Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-11-2015, 01:59 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2014 25' FB International
santa rosa , California
Fridge problems?? Or maybe normal

Hello
I am new to airstreams and right now I am on our maiden voyage. I have not found my question answered on forum so please forgive me if this is posted already.

How long does it take for fridge to cool? It is staying at 46.
Everytime I put power setting to 5 and then hit set/temp to check power setting it says 1.

We have a 2014 sterling.

The trailer is level and we ate hooked up to power. Any fridge information will be helpful!

Thanks so much
Lemur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 02:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
It takes 4 to 24 hours to stabilize the temp in an RV refrigerator. Don't open it any more than you have to, and understand that doing things like making ice cubes, freezing warm items and so on in the freezer takes capacity from the refrigerator section, and will warm up the main box. RV units have far less capacity than home units so learning conservation techniques helps keep them cool and cold.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 02:11 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2014 27' FB Eddie Bauer
Chelsea , Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
How long does it take for fridge to cool? It is staying at 46.
Everytime I put power setting to 5 and then hit set/temp to check power setting it says 1.
Set at "5," your fridge should be able to stabilize in the mid to low 30's unless the ambient temperatures are in the high 80's to low 90's and your fridge's exterior wall is exposed to the hot sun, but in any event, you should be able to get into the high 30's.

If your controller resets itself to "1" after you set it to "5" you most likely have a problem with the control board.