Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-30-2012, 10:55 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1985 31' Excella
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Fridge doesn't like shore power

The domestic in my 85 excella is working just fine with gas, but as soon as I plug into shore power it shuts down. Since I am brand new to this and I don't have a clue what's going on, are there any airstream jedis out there who can suggest how I might remedy this?
Land Grover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 11:21 PM   #2

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
Assuming your refrigerator is an auto-switching model, it's detecting the availability of 120v power, switching off the gas and failing to cool on 120v.

I'd say that the most likely problem is that the 120v heating element has failed, since the 120v input needs to be present to make it try to switch away from gas. In the short term, you should be able to set the refrigerator to gas-only operation. The electric heating element can be replaced, if tests find that the element itself is the problem. Hopefully someone with more detailed knowledge of auto-switching fridges will reply, but there are several useful threads on here about the electric heating element.

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:13 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2023 30' Globetrotter
Pleasanton , California