Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-13-2020, 11:30 AM   #1

1960 22' Flying Cloud
Wine Country , California
Check my geometry?

I've been using this attachment I built to keep an approximate idea of the weight added as I rebuild the trailer. I think the length from the hub to the scale might affect the reading, but I'm no engineer. Is the 6" significant and causing a lower reading, and by how much. Hub to hub length is about 74" Thanks for your help.
J.L.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2018a.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	359.1 KB
ID:	365682  
Jay Ell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 11:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
How is it sitting on the other side? Is the tire installed, sitting on the ground, and trailer level side to side and front to back?
If you set it up like that and move your scale along the fixture so it is out from the hub face a distance equal to where center of tire would be....then no additional math is required.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2020, 02:14 PM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Rich,
Would not the tire center be directly under the brake drum?
The wheel is offset to the inside.
Maybe lock the drum with the brake adjustment wheel, and lower onto the scale. Put a jack stand under the axle mount plate as a safety measure. Tongue jack down and opposite wheel chocked.

Bob
🇺🇸
Old 04-13-2020, 04:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post
Rich,