Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-06-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
Trotwood , Ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to Mikethefixit
Breakaway Switch

I Have to admit, I have no experience with brakeaway switches. Should I be able to pull the pin at will?? I have no idea how old mine is,but I am sure its been replaced at one time, by the way the wires were put back together. So should I replace it seeing I cannot pull the pin?
Thanks
ROGER
7.3 liter Power Stroke Diesel
1977 27ft OVERLANDER
KA8LMQ
AIR # 22336 TAC- OH-7
May your roads be straight and smooth and may you always have a tailwind!
Mikethefixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:36 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Elkhart , Indiana
Send a message via AIM to memgrove2000
Pull harder! And yes replace it as it is an inexpensive safety item.

TAC # IN 1 Air#27922
memgrove2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:36 PM   #3
Master of Universe

2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikethefixit View Post
Should I be able to pull the pin at will??
Yes. I suspect it is not been pulled out for too long and any lubricant has dried out and/or dirt has gotten into it. I'd try some WD40 to loosen and lubricate it, and try to gently pry it out. It is supposed to lubricated with some oil periodically, but mine gets tough to remove after a while (which probably means I don't lub it enough). I don't remember what kind of oil, but if you still have the owner's manual, it should tell you what kind. It may be something like 3-in-One.

Gene
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:43 PM   #4
Rivet Master

Port Orchard , Washington
Roger,