Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > General Repair Forum
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2018, 01:38 PM   #1

1980 31' Excella II
Long Beach , California
1980 Excella 31 Renovation Start

First time posting, the wife and I just picked up this beauty a couple weeks ago from a great couple in Arkansas. Her father had passed away earlier this year and left this behind, they very kindly sold it to us and we will do our best to make it beautiful again!

As you can see from my username, I am a newbie to the whole world of rv's, trailers, towing, you name it. I learned a lot and made "a couple" of mistakes here and there. Once we agreed on the final price, the wife and I rented a truck from enterprise and off we went. The 3 day drive out there was uneventful, had some great Texas BBQ, and eventually meandered my way to Hot Springs, AR.

We had gotten the trailer inspected by a mobile RV repairman before finalizing the sale, and he recommended tire changes and there were some lights out at the back for brakes, blinker lights, that would need replacing. Other than that, everything was good to make the long tow back. Only mistake I made was one time, stuck in a Walmart parking lot, and jack knifed the truck trying to back out. Put a big dent in my left bumper. Oh well, that's why we have the rental insurance. Other than that, I was really happy at how easy it is to tow. All I had heard were horror stories of trailer sway and fishtailing. The Airstream was empty except the for original interior cabinets and appliances.