Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Excella 500
Red Rock , Texas
surge brake actuator?

Howdy,

I'm a newbie.

I recently got a '77 excella 500. It has all the problems one could expect... rear droop, funky plumbing, etc...

One positive is the axles appear to be in decent shape. The disc and pads are in good condition too. My question is about surge brake actuators. Any one use them? It is fairly inexpensive compared to the e/h units. Is there any reason why one of these should not be used?

sorry if thats been answered before...
junkyardawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 27' Overlander
1973 27' Overlander
1963 19' Globetrotter
Naples , Florida
You have to butcher the hitch to install it,it is very expensive to install,does not give the driver as much control as electric brakes,Etc,Etc. Unless someone has changed the axle since you trailer was made,I would guess the rubber on the torsion axle is shot. Good luck ,and welcome to the forum. Dave
easyride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 12:14 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2002 31' Classic
Houston , Texas
I don't know much about the older ASs, but I don't think they had OEM disk brakes back in 1977, so because you say the axles appear to be in decent shape AND they have disk brakes it would seem that they have in fact been replaced.
withidl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 01:24 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1977 31' Excella 500
Red Rock , Texas
I don't know if the axles have been replaced, but they seem to function fine, with a few degrees positive camber... (camber?)

I would guess they would be shot too... but so far they appear to have some life left.