Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2019, 02:59 PM   #1
LEV ZEPPELIN
 
crazylev's Avatar
 
2004 19' International CCD
Chicago , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 988
Images: 10
No voltage for brakes- Prodigy P3?

Hooked up today and I get the .C. "connected" readout on display, but when brakes are applied The display reads 0 volts. Even with the over-ride lever. Normally the voltage varies depending on how much pressure is applied to brakes.

Break-lights, turn signals/flashers all working on trailer when connected. Just nothing to the brakes.

Called Teconsha and the gentleman there said to adjust the wheel thing on the top left of controller all the way "forward toward front of vehicle". I'll try this when I move the TV closer. They also asked if I was the original owner and said I was but my P3 is 16 years old. Lifetime warranty baby! So I'll see if the adjustment works. He definitely said it had nothing to do with the trailer itself. More a brake controller issue.

Anyone else ever have this issue.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wish I were living in the stone age. Then I would know I'm the smartest person in the world.
crazylev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 03:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
overlander63's Avatar

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 21,102
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazylev View Post

Anyone else ever have this issue.
Yes, When I let somebody borrow my truck, they turned the gain all the way to zero. They really had no business touching it, since they weren't towing a trailer.
__________________

__________________
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2019, 10:22 AM   #3
LEV ZEPPELIN
 
crazylev's Avatar
 
2004 19' International CCD
Chicago , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 988
Images: 10
Thanks overlander63.

Problem solved! I turns out the gain WAS set all the way off! Now I have to reset to sweet spot.

Very weird since I am the only driver and to be honest over the coarse of 16 years I've probably checked settings 3 times. If the 0 volts wasn't displayed on the front, I may never have known about this.

Maybe when I went in for either an old change or emission test, someone "accidentally" moved something. Our last trip out early May everything was ok.
__________________
Sometimes I wish I were living in the stone age. Then I would know I'm the smartest person in the world.
crazylev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New TV and prodigy and cooked TV brakes Goin camping Brakes & Brake Controllers 5 08-14-2011 08:21 PM
New brakes on TV-Prodigy reset Bk Yd Safari Brakes & Brake Controllers 3 08-10-2011 07:09 PM
BRAKES, BRAKES and more BRAKES Inland RV Center, In Commercial Listings 7 11-17-2009 05:56 PM
Brakes Or No Brakes 62safari Brakes & Brake Controllers 3 01-24-2006 09:18 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.