Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Brakes & Brake Controllers
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-13-2004, 05:53 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

How Much Work do the Trailer Brakes Do?

I seem to be a font of dumb questions, but as a total newbie to this whole monster towing thing, I have to come up to speed as fast as I can. I have until November 1 before we embark on a month-long trek in the 29-foot Argosy.

Ok, in rough terms, like a precentage, how much of the real braking work is being done by the trailer brakes, and how much by the tow vehicle?

If my van weighs say, 4,000# and the trailer weighs 6,000# would it be reasonable to assume the 40%/60% ratio applies? Or, am I way off here?

When driving, it FEELS like the trailer is applying substantial braking, but I don't know this.
mdeneen
mdeneen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2004, 06:13 AM   #2
Just an old timer...

2004 22' Interstate
Tipton , Iowa
Not a dumb question at all! After considering this for a moment, as a practical matter when your trailer is attached to the tow car, you now have a 10,000 lb vehicle that is being stopped by a total of eight brakes. When you have no trailer brakes, you're stopping the entire 10,000lb vehicle with brakes designed to stop a 4,000 lb vehicle.