Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2006, 09:53 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

ogden , North Carolina
Help - brakes!!!

Hello all, i was wondering if maybe you guys could spare me some of your airstream knowledge as i am a absolute newb when it comes to anything other then modern electric brakes. We have a 77 airstream excella with what i have been told has surge brakes?? its a unit that is mounted behind the propane tanks and has a master cylinder, a power booster, and some wires. It looks much like something you would see in your car underneath the hood.....brake resevior and all. well attached to the power booster is a line....a rubber one which connects to this large white egg looking thing, then on the opposite end of the egg looking thing is a hookup....it looks just like a air hookup that you would hook into a air compressor or something like that for a air gun, air hose, etc. any idea with what i am dealing with here and how i can hook it up to my truck to make these brakes work?? also...its has disc brakes.
dklimek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 10:36 AM   #2
Retired.

Currently Looking...
. , At Large
Hi, and welcome to the forums! What you are describing, is a hydraboost (or hyrdovac) unit. It uses vacuum from the tow vehicle to actuate the brakes on the trailer. A forum search of the two terms should net you more info.
Old 07-28-2006, 01:03 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

ogden , North Carolina