Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2024, 10:20 AM   #1
Rivet Master
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 1,007
Wiring the TST Tire Pressure Repeater in the Trade Wind

So I es about to install the repeater in my Trade Wind today and paused when I discovered there is no simple access to the DC panel in the front of the trailer. I know there is a DC panel (along with the DC to DC converter) under the front curbside twin bed, and got as far as unscrewing the four screws holding that in place, however, there is foam cushioning adhered along the edge, and it did not feel like it was coming up easily. I didn't want to damage anything, so I held off for now.

Has anyone gotten into that area on their Trade Wind? Has anyone found another solution for wiring the repeater? Have folks found the repeated warnings about voiding the warranty if you don't install the repeater to be overblown CYA statements? On the way home, the pressure sensors all seemed to work fine without it. :shrug:

I've toyed with trying to wire the end into an SAE plug and just plugging it into the exterior solar port by the batter box when in use. Or just throwing caution to the wind and diving into that DC panel area regardless of the initial resistance.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 04:48 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member
 
AirstreamJim's Avatar

 
2009 34' Classic
Lake Worth Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
I've toyed with trying to wire the end into an SAE plug and just plugging it into the exterior solar port by the batter box when in use.
After seeing someone post on here that theyíd done exactly that, thatís how I wired mine. Works perfectly. I havenít needed my portable panels yet, but if I do, Iím fairly sure I wonít be using the TPMS at the same time.

Donít forget that the exterior solar port is a Zamp port and is wired the reverse of a normal SAE port.

Jim
__________________
WBCCI 1433
🌴 Palm Beach County, FL 🌴
Silver Meteor - 2009 Airstream Classic Limited 34
2016 RAM 2500 Laramie Crew Cab 4x4, Cummins TurboDiesel
AirstreamJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 07:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2016 30' International
Florence , Alabama
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 510
I had a 30ft International before this 25ft TW. No need for a repeater. I think a repeater really only makes sense if you have a big class A with a trailer behind it.
joshjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2024, 07:37 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirstreamJim View Post
Don’t forget that the exterior solar port is a Zamp port and is wired the reverse of a normal SAE port.
Not anymore. The Trade Winds, and all new Airstream trailers as far as I’m aware, come with an Expion360 PowerPort now. I have not put a multimeter to it yet to determine how they wired it in.

UPDATE: Just after I posted my in-laws came over and I took the opportunity to run out and check. In the pic below, the left is positive (positive voltage with red on the left and black on the right). I believe that is how Zamp is wired. Regardless, If I were you, I’d check the polarity on your trailer. I’ve heard stories of even Zamp plugs being wired in opposite from how they are intended.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8760.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	305.5 KB
ID:	443791  
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2024, 12:01 PM   #5
2 Rivet Member
 
Silver Shell's Avatar
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 81
My cheap Tymate works without a repeater, I’m sure the TST will work even better.
__________________
James
2024 Trade Wind 25FBT (Silver Shell)
2023 Rivian R1T (XJ-9)
WBCCI #28504
Silver Shell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2024, 01:47 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
dbj216's Avatar

 
1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8,379
Images: 1
I installed a TST system on our triple axle 86 Limited 34'. I installed the repeater because the instructions said to do it. So I got a "motorcycle" 12v battery, put it in a plastic box, and strapped it to my A frame behind the propane tanks. Then I wired the repeater to it and hung the repeater behind my rock guard front window cover. I do have a battery maintainer for the motorcycle battery to keep it charged up, although the repeater certainly doesn't take much power.

Just an idea describing what I did.

David
__________________
WBCCI #8607 VAC Region 11
KnowledgeBase trailer renovation threads: 69 Globetrotter, 76 Sovereign, 75 Overlander, 66 Trade Wind Such fun !
dbj216 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2024, 05:28 PM   #7
2 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 75
I have a queen but I opened the DC panel at the front of the trailer, ran 4-guage wire to a 2nd fused DC panel, and then ran wires out the bottom of the trailer to the TST repeater. I agree that my $50 tire sensor kit didn't need a repeater and my new $400 one does...

I'm also using this panel to power my Starlink and some additional USB ports I'm installing at the front of the trailer.

I had no trouble getting into the DC box under my queen bed.
richh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2024, 06:35 PM   #8
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar

 
2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15,642
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
I have mine on a 12 volt plug and attached to the inside of the front window. Severl times I forgot to plug it in and the system worked fine. If I was doing it again, I would not bother installing it.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 06:45 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 7,749
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by hikingcamera View Post
I've toyed with trying to wire the end into an SAE plug and just plugging it into the exterior solar port by the batter box when in use.
That's what I did. I attached the repeater inside the propane tank lid using Industrial Velcro. (I figured the signal could get through plastic easier than aluminum.)
I called TST and asked if the orientation of the repeater made any difference and was told "No". The wire simply drops out the open bottom of the tank cover and is then plugged into the Zamp port (reversed) using an SAE-2 plug. I found a 12" SAE-SAE at WalMart and cut it in half.
Easy-Peasy. (Unusual for me)
I confess I wonder if the repeater is a placebo and is simply an antenna with a LED light.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 09:31 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
gypsydad's Avatar
 
2017 28' Flying Cloud
2014 25' FB Flying Cloud
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Georgetown (winter)Thayne (summer) , Texas & Wyoming
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,849
I just wired mine into the battery box. Easy and works fine. 5 years now...just changed the batteries in the valve camp transmitters.
__________________
Empty Nesters; Gypsies on the road!
2017 28' Twin Flying Cloud
2017 F250 King Ranch, 4X4, 6.7L, Blue-Ox WDH
Summer-Star Valley Ranch RV Resort (Thayne, WY); Winter-Sun City (Georgetown,TX)
gypsydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 10:12 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 75
The Tradewind doesn't have batteries in the front of the trailer - that is the point of this discussion. It isn't simple to find a place to connect the repeater.
richh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 12:33 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
daleyocum's Avatar
 
2018 25' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,326
If your Tradewind has a USB port youíre not using towards the front of the trailer you could use a USB to 12v converter such as this. Just cut off the cigarette lighter end.
daleyocum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 01:16 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by daleyocum View Post
If your Tradewind has a USB port youíre not using towards the front of the trailer you could use a USB to 12v converter such as this. Just cut off the cigarette lighter end.
That thought (to power it via a USB port) had occurred to me as well. Good idea to salvage a USB to 12-volt adapter.
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 01:38 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
larry9000's Avatar
 
2006 16' International CCD
Steamboat Springs , Colorado
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 141
I plugged the repeater into the 12v socket in the rear of our 4Runner (our tow vehicle), and used velcro to stick it on the ceiling near the rear window. May not work with your TV if it is a truck.
__________________
2006 16' International CCD pulled by 2016 Toyota 4runner
larry9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 02:52 PM   #15
Site Team
 
Hans627's Avatar

 
2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Hanover , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by richh View Post
The Tradewind doesn't have batteries in the front of the trailer - that is the point of this discussion. It isn't simple to find a place to connect the repeater.
Have you tried it without the repeater? I have a 27' GT and have never used the repeater and the TPMS works well without it.
__________________
2018 27' FBT Globetrotter
2019 RAM Limited 2500 w/6.7 diesel
BRN 22721
Hans627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 03:14 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Boulder , Colorado
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 75
I took several trips without the repeater. It works for about an hour of driving then loses the signal.
richh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 04:05 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
SSquared's Avatar
 
2013 25' FB Flying Cloud
Longmont , Colorado
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,121
We first towed with an SUV, and put the repeater in the back window like larry9000 did. That worked fire for ten years. We changed to a pickup, and then moved the repeater to the trailer. It now is attached to the bottom of the overhead cabinet in the bedroom, with power obtained from the reading light wiring.
SSquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 04:11 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,379
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by richh View Post
The Tradewind doesn't have batteries in the front of the trailer - that is the point of this discussion. .
Where are they?
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 04:53 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
hikingcamera's Avatar

 
2024 25' Trade Wind
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayne&Sam View Post
Where are they?
Under the belly just behind the rear axle. Mounted with a strap to the underside of the trailer.

This technical walkthrough videos goes through it all, more or less:

https://youtu.be/bYVZ4yzJGTk?feature=shared
hikingcamera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2024, 05:59 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by richh View Post
The Tradewind doesn't have batteries in the front of the trailer - that is the point of this discussion. It isn't simple to find a place to connect the repeater.
You could connect to the wire for the jack and a wire to the frame for ground.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TST TPMS Repeater Wiring Rivet Rocket Tires 22 11-07-2023 04:53 PM
Wiring the Repeater for TST TPMS hikingcamera Tires 64 04-27-2023 09:05 AM
TST Tire Pressure Monitoring System Airstream12557 Tires 168 04-07-2021 07:05 PM
TST 507 TPMS Repeater Question Ridgerunner3 Tires 12 12-29-2016 12:23 PM
TST TPMS fit and repeater SteveSueMac Tires 6 08-17-2013 12:29 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.