Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2021, 10:11 AM   #1
PEN
2 Rivet Member
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
Bryant , Arkansas
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 89
Blog Entries: 1
TST 507 TPMS Booster

On our last trip our TST 507 TPMS BOOSTER antenna fell off! We had mounted it inside the propane tank cover using velcro. The velcro held tight, but apparently the ADHESIVE “melted” and the booster just slipped off. Can we mount this INSIDE the trailer near the front window somewhere or does it HAVE TO BE OUTSIDE? Other mounting recommendations? I have ordered a replacement, but don’t want the same thing to happen again.
PEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2021, 10:35 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,193
Blog Entries: 1
How well does your system work without the booster? I never installed my booster because it works well without it.
Bill M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2021, 12:55 PM   #3
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar

 
2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,817
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
I installed my booster to the inside of the front window and plug it into the power post for the TV when we travel. I have forgotten to plug it in aa few times and the system worked fine with out it. In fact, it can contact my trailer tires from the garage with the trailer being 50 feet away and around the corner from my home. The system had great range.

My previous Tire Pressure Pro needed a booster to function.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 06:19 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2019 30' International
Pennsylvania , Pennsylvania
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 825
My booster is in the battery box, alligator clips directly to the batteries. If it drops off, it'll still be in there somewhere
__________________
If you ain't havin' fun you ain't doin' it right

2017 Ford CCSB F250 XLT 6.2L Gas 4x4 Ruby
2019 International Serenity 30 Rear Twin
majorairhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 06:59 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6,077
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill M. View Post
How well does your system work without the booster? I never installed my booster because it works well without it.
Similar to the OP, my booster is mounted inside the propane cover, on the lid actually using Industrial Velcro or 3-M.
There have been times I forgot to plug it in (I use the Zamp connector reversed) and the system worked just fine.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 07:20 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
Wayne&Sam's Avatar
 
2014 25' Flying Cloud
Cuddebackville , New York
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,055
Images: 21
Are all of you using caps or flow through sensors?
__________________
2014 25' Flying Cloud Rear Twin
2019 Ford Expedition Platinum
Wayne&Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 09:09 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Hans627's Avatar

 
2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Hanover , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by PEN View Post
On our last trip our TST 507 TPMS BOOSTER antenna fell off! We had mounted it inside the propane tank cover using velcro. The velcro held tight, but apparently the ADHESIVE “melted” and the booster just slipped off. Can we mount this INSIDE the trailer near the front window somewhere or does it HAVE TO BE OUTSIDE? Other mounting recommendations? I have ordered a replacement, but don’t want the same thing to happen again.
I also have a 27' GT and have never used the booster. It works fine without it.
Hans627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 09:09 AM   #8
Married with Airstream
 
drbrick's Avatar

 
2004 25' International CCD
Vancouver Island , British Columbia
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 840
Images: 5
Never installed or used the booster ... works fine without ... have you tried it???
__________________
La Dolce Vita Brick & Mona
We're Married With Airstream dot com
2004 International 25CCD Registered Name "Blue Streak"
2013 F-150HD FX4 SuperCrew Lariart (MaxTow) "Red Dragon"
drbrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 10:56 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
jeffmc306's Avatar
 
2019 27' Globetrotter
McHenry , Illinois
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1,299
Blog Entries: 4
PEN, I mounted mine to the outside of the battery box, just above the Zamp plug and connected it to the running lights off the 7-pin trailer umbilical inside the trailer. This way it’s only “on” when the trailer is connected and the lights are turned on and I never have to remember to connect/disconnect it.

As others have stated, you might not need the booster. The owners manual said they may not cover warranty if the booster is not installed. I doubt that would happen but figured as long as it came with the unit, I’d install it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	B1BF4ECA-CF9E-4ADE-9DA9-3A54801AEB3C.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	440.4 KB
ID:	398673   Click image for larger version

Name:	E8EA69A0-635D-4DAB-ABF3-664207CA023A.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	295.6 KB
ID:	398674  

__________________
2019 27’ Globetrotter FBT Walnut/Dublin Slate
2018 FC23FB
2019 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi Laramie Blue Ox 1000#
WBCCI# 10258
RETIRED!
jeffmc306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 06:06 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
GammaDog's Avatar
 
2014 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vero Beach , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 652
Images: 26
Ditto

Quote:
Originally Posted by majorairhead View Post
my booster is in the battery box, alligator clips directly to the batteries. If it drops off, it'll still be in there somewhere
^x2
__________________
Silver Cliche’
Follow us at...
silvercliche.blogspot.com
GammaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 08:58 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
StuartsDad's Avatar

 
2018 28' Flying Cloud
Chapin , South Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 205
Bolted mine to a small junction box, along with a on/off toggle switch. Junction box bolted inside propane tank cover to top frame. Wired directly to battery with inline quick disconnect for tank removal. I installed the booster because it came with the unit, but have forgotten to switch in on a time or two and didn't notice any issues.
StuartsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 04:17 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
FishByFly's Avatar
 
2017 25' Flying Cloud
Fayetteville , Arkansas
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 556
When we first got our system, it came without the booster. We had it on a 30’ bunkhouse for years with no need for a booster.

We moved the system over to a 25’ FB and could not get a signal unless I moved the receiver to the back seat of our truck. We got the booster and that solved the issue.

I mounted the booster inside the head cover of the Jack with a waterproof push button switch. When I forget to switch it on, no signal. Usually figure that out as we do our Pre-departure systems checks.

I’ve seen where folks wire their booster to their running lights and system. Wish I would have done that. Some day may move it over.
__________________
FishByFly
because I catch fish on a fly...

2017 25' Safari FB - “Fly Fish Inn
2010 F250 Lariat
FishByFly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 07:54 AM   #13
3 Rivet Member
 
2018 16' Sport
St. Louis , Missouri
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 185
Check to see if it works without the booster. We also had some mounting issues and for the last three trips no booster and it worked well. Ours is only a 16" sport. Longer may no work.
Sport 16 STL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 09:07 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Mollysdad's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
Tampa , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6,077
Blog Entries: 1
I called TST and asked if the orientation of the antenna makes any difference. I was planning to install mine on the lid of the propane tank cover, so the antenna would be horizontal. They told me it makes no difference. They also said it draws so little power you could leave it wired to the battery. (I didn't).

Their video on YouTube showed it installed on a Class A in the battery box behind the rear wheels. This was farther than the sensors from the monitor. It was counter-intuitive to me.
Mollysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 10:35 AM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
dmcgaugh's Avatar
 
Seattle , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 139
Needed a booster on our 30 RB and installed it in the small front street-side storage compartment (the one under the L-lounge). I tapped power off of the compartment light so install was super convenient. I was a little worried it wouldn’t work well surrounded by all of the aluminum, but has worked fine for years.
dmcgaugh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS- Expandability of TST-507-FT-4-C Brawny Tires 0 06-24-2021 10:36 AM
TST 507 flow thru or RV Tom Servo Tires 11 03-19-2021 06:03 AM
TST 507 Tire Monitoring System cactusjk Airstream Classifieds 0 06-17-2017 08:25 AM
TST 507 TPMS Repeater Question Ridgerunner3 Tires 12 12-29-2016 12:23 PM
TST 507 TPMS Battery Replacement Siegmann Tires 0 03-15-2016 09:12 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.