Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-12-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
city , N/A
Send a message via AIM to cooney Send a message via Yahoo to cooney
Tire Pressure Questions

After a failure of one of the GY Marathon tires, we replaced them all. I should add that these were the original tires on our 2008 AS Safari 27' FB, which means they were on for almost 4 and a half years.
Anyway, we put on four new Gladiator tires, this time w/ an E rating, instead of the Goodyear D rating. The sidewall has a pressure rating of 80 psi, but the dealer (with whom I have some reservations as to experience) recommends that we carry only 55 psi, for reasons of the shape of the aluminum wheel. I asked if that would cause overheating of the tires, and he assured me it would not. This dealer, BTW, is in a small southwestern town, and we pretty much had to use him as our choices were limited.
Comments? Advice? We want safety, primarily, and of course reasonable tire longevity, as well.
Thank you all in advance...
All the Best...

JC
cooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:03 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
The only way to determine the correct tire pressure is to weigh your trailer and refer to the tire inflation chart. This is the Goodyear chart.

http://www.goodyear.com/truck/pdf/da...dInflation.pdf

Since the Government requires all manufactures to meet the same standards for a give tire size you can use this chart for any manufacture.

You are correct in your distrust of the dealers recommendation as they just go by the "door sticker" and have little knowledge beyond that.