Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-18-2008, 09:59 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1965 22' Safari
Newbury , Ohio
Swapping Tires??? Help!!!

I have a 1963 Airstream Ambassador that I bought new tires for about two years ago and only travel 300 miles with. I was thinking about swapping two of those to my 1965 Airstream Safari. Does anyone know if this will work? If so, what are the jack points for both trailers? I believe that I should know how to figure this out on my own, but I don't know how. The times on my Safari are in dire shape and this approach would save me money.
Old 08-18-2008, 11:10 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1966 22' Safari
Chico , California
I don't know why it wouldn't work. Don't re-use split rim wheels. Jack on the axle, as close to the tire as you can.

NUTZ
Alumanutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 11:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
The newer tires are the same size and load rating as the ones you want to replace, I don't see any reason you couldn't swap them out. You should be able to get this info off the sidewalls of the tires. (If there's something I'm missing here that makes it ill-advised, I'm sure we'll find out!)

It's unclear whether you were intending to remount the tires on the original wheels. That would be preferable assuming the wheels themselves are OK...again, if the wheels are the same on both rigs (same size, same # of lug bolts, etc), you could switch both the wheels and tires.