Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Tires
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-23-2013, 09:06 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1967 28' Ambassador
2005 25' International CCD
San Antonio , Texas
Lightbulb 1967 Axle and Tire Replacement Recommendation

First off, I am new at this. i recently bought a 1967 airstream ambassador and am in the process of ordering new axles from Inland. The current tires likely need to go to but i wanted to get some recommendation for this vintage. They currently have a set of 6 ply 15 X 7LT tires (in really good shape) on what appears to be the original set of rims. What tires would best replace these? Radials/bias ply?
Nomad_Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:40 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Rural, blink and you'll miss it , Missouri
Hi! and welcome! There are varying opinions on tires. This is one of my favorite threads:
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f438...res-29435.html

Eljay

1968 Tradewind Double.
eljay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:05 AM   #3
CapriRacer

I'm in the , US
Nomad,

Eljay gave you a link to a very long thread - and unfortuantely, it has some bad information in it - and in partcular from Andy at Inland RV Center.

So allow me to start over.

You have a trailer with a 7.00-15LT. I'm going to guess the tire is a 6 Ply Rating - now known as a Load Range C. You need to check that, because the load carrying capacity is extremely important as overloaded tires can fail - and fail catastrophically with little warniing.

7.00-15's are a little hard to find. Your best source is the internet as the local tire store probably doesn't even know what those are.