Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-25-2011, 10:24 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Video - Successful Axle Job on 1964 Safari

This past weekend, the Beader and I swapped out the axle on the her 1964 Safari.

I studied these forums and all the articles to get a feel for the job. I needed to work quickly to prep for a long trip coming up next week and so I did the "one call" route and went with Inland RV.

Long story short is that I took pictures and shot video throughout the day and now I'm sharing it back with the forum.

A bit about the video - it's my first video using Picassa software and apparently you can't use MOV files to create it. So I reference other videos within the "Main" video. Basically you can watch the main video and go to "sub" videos to see details. Hopefully it will make sense.

For all of you wonder if you should replace your axle -

Thanks to Brian (Cochese on the forums) and our welder Christopher and of course the Beader for letting me wrench on her AS.

Message me with any questions.

Jitney
JitneyBead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:41 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1965 22' Safari
Vassar , Michigan
Great job! Very well documented. Love those Safaris.

Everyday is a Saturday
tkasten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:55 PM   #3
Tool Hoarder

Currently Looking...
West , California
Nice!! Im getting ready to replace my axles on my 65. Where did you get your Axles? Which kind are they?
marzboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 08:14 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member

1964 22' Safari
Tulsa , Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by marzboy View Post