Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-19-2012, 12:21 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Dallas , Texas
Do I have an axle issue?? Wheel issues when reversing trailer on slant

Hi all- Newbie here! I have a 1975 Airstream Internation 31'. Currently the ship is empty (removed all interior for my studio). When we picked up the airstream from the PO we didnt have the issues listed below...

Yesterday we were leaving our storage facility and when we reversed on a hill we heard a pop and then realized one of the tires was not rotating in reverse...it was stuck. Then another pop and the airstream drop down a little, the tire was back on the ground and reversed just fine. This only happened when we were on a slope. We drove the airstream around the parking lot and it reversed just fine on flat land.

We recently greased the bearings and replaced the seals. Also got all 4 new tires that have less than 20 miles on them.
I dont know if my husband didnt tighten something enough, put something on wrong or our axles just decided to die on us. It just started to do this so I thought something may have gone wrong in changing tires or servicing the bearings.

I understand that these are old axles and we should probably consider replacing them....just want to see if it could be something else that would stop the tires from turning....

Thanks!
Thanks!
idaramin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 12:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Rusty Brakes
Old 03-19-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by idaramin View Post