Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Axles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-18-2009, 10:42 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1971 27' Overlander
Springfield , Missouri
Damage with old axles?

Okay, so I'm a newbie. I've got a '71 Overlander. I know that it needs new axles, but I can't afford it just yet. What kind of damage or safety issue, if any, can occur if I just take short trips--like less than 50 miles one way? I drove it home--about 225 miles without incident towing with just a ball. I now have a Reese Dual Cam but haven't gone anywhere yet.
Thanks for the advice. BTW, I hope to be able to get the new ones in the spring, then head out on a 1000 mile trek!
Ag'71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 01:28 AM   #2
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ag'71 View Post
Okay, so I'm a newbie. I've got a '71 Overlander. I know that it needs new axles, but I can't afford it just yet. What kind of damage or safety issue, if any, can occur if I just take short trips--like less than 50 miles one way? I drove it home--about 225 miles without incident towing with just a ball. I now have a Reese Dual Cam but haven't gone anywhere yet.
Thanks for the advice. BTW, I hope to be able to get the new ones in the spring, then head out on a 1000 mile trek!
Bad axles will cause the trailer to bottom out.

That in turn, can cause rear end separation, cracked frames, broken wires, broken AC lines, damaged outriggers, fatigue cracks in the shell, shearing of rivets, water leaks, and the list goes on and on.

Andy
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 05:33 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella