RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 11-16-2020, 01:40 PM   #1

1984 31' Limited
Currently Looking...
North Pole , Alaska
Broken Wheel / Axle

I am new at this "forum" stuff - so please bear with me - I have a 1984 31ft Avion travel travel trailer.
Yesterday, as I pulled out of the driveway, my driver's side, front wheel assembly literally broke off the end of the axle, on my Avion. It looks like it broke off right at the weld where the wheel assembly/knuckle is attached to the axle tube.
How should I go about fixing this?? I do have a replacement axle I purchased several years ago.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1966.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	331.4 KB
ID:	383353   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1967.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	255.5 KB
ID:	383354  

Name:	DSCN1968.jpg
Size:	401.5 KB
ID:	383355   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1969.jpg
Size:	366.9 KB
ID:	383356  

Paul Brodale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 01:50 PM   #2
Moderator dude

1966 26' Overlander
Phoenix , Arizona
Welcome to Air Forums!

Your Avion has a very different suspension and running gear than an Airstream.

Your Avion has leaf springs with an axle tube. Air Stream does not have this arrangement.

With that said, I believe your assessment is correct. The weld or the joint failed. You said you have a replacement axle. Does this include the brake assemblies attached? If yes you have solved the problem and swap out. Fortunate for you!

If not, you might be able to consult a local welder that can reattach what has come apart. Reattachment may mean welding some support to the stub that extends into the tube for a distance of 4 to 6inches past the clamping point. The trick or high skill set is getting the alignment correct of the axle end to the axle tube. A 90 degree in all directions of the axle end to the axle tube would be necessary.

Action
Old 11-16-2020, 01:53 PM   #3