Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2020, 02:49 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Lacrescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Thermostat

My furnace option does not show up on the thermostat to even turn on the furnace, any idea why or how to fix it?
sdhabberstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 03:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
this comes up a lot unfortunately and there are many causes. Describe your setup and components or year and style of trailer. One or Two A/C? Dometic CCC2 thermostatic controller?

Here are some common causes: furnace has no 12V power, furnace controller faulted or failed, bad wiring to furnace, AC controller bad.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 05:15 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Lacrescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BayouBiker View Post
this comes up a lot unfortunately and there are many causes. Describe your setup and components or year and style of trailer. One or Two A/C? Dometic CCC2 thermostatic controller?

Here are some common causes: furnace has no 12V power, furnace controller faulted or failed, bad wiring to furnace, AC controller bad.
I have a 2006 28’ International. The thermostat is a Duo-Therm comfort control. I find it odd the furnace option would just disappear. The converter was recently changed also.
Thanks for your response.
sdhabberstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 07:01 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
the CCC2 automatically senses what to control and what to disable. There are dip switches on the Dometic AC/Heat Pump, whatever you happen to have that determines what the CCC2 controls. It also senses a semi-isolated low voltage signal from the Furnace via a two wire connection.

Performing a system reset will cause the CCC2 to read the dip switch settings again and it may then detect the presence of the furnace. Do a reset by setting the ccc2 to off and then press and hold zone and mode at the same time. When it says init release and then press the on/off button. See if it now sees the furnace. If not remove 120 V and 12V power (use/store switch) then reconnect power and try again. Removing power resets the AC unit controller firmware.

Let me know if this works (it does sometimes).

Edit: yours may be the older CCC not the comfort Control 2, in that case after pressing and holding the zone and mode simultaneously switch the unit to ON, it should show FF in the display until you release the two buttons.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 07:52 AM   #5
Ready-to-Travel
 
pmclemore's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
Walkerton , Virginia
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,035
My furnace setting was set to read "Aqua" for some reason. That works just fine - but you can reset the word to "Furnace" if you want. I don't remember exactly how, but if this is your issue, someone here will remember.

Pat
__________________
--------------------------------------
Somebody, please, point me to the road.

AIR 3987
TAC VA-2
WBCCI 4596
pmclemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 08:20 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
Good catch Pat, the dipswitch is for an external furnace or aqua heating system, the controller can't know the difference so you have to tell it. On the CCC2 you press and hold the up and down arrows to toggle the display from one to the other.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 11:26 AM   #7
Ready-to-Travel
 
pmclemore's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
Walkerton , Virginia
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,035
Thanks, Brian. I was too lazy to go out to the trailer to check the manual.

On reflection, maybe she needs for me to go out there and see her. I've been neglectful for too long. Sob.

Pat
__________________
--------------------------------------
Somebody, please, point me to the road.

AIR 3987
TAC VA-2
WBCCI 4596
pmclemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 11:28 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Halford1's Avatar
 
2019 19' Flying Cloud
Canyon Country , California
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 897
is it possible for me to replace Dometic thermostat with Nest?
__________________
2014 Ford Explorer XLT with factory installed Tow Package.

2019 Flying Cloud 19CBB
Halford1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 05:42 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Lacrescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Furnace settings

[QUOTE=BayouBiker;2359091]this comes up a lot unfortunately and there are many causes. Describe your setup and components or year and style of trailer. One or Two A/C? Dometic CCC2 thermostatic controller?

Here are some common causes: furnace has no 12V power, furnace controller faulted or failed, bad wiring to furnace, AC controller bad.[/QUO

Reset thermostat. Nothing. Been reading about dip switches. Wouldn’t know where to find them. Frustrating
sdhabberstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2020, 06:03 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
The dip switches are in the electrical box on the roof unit, outside. You access the box by first removing the fiberglass shroud. I'm going to assume it used to work fine, and so suspect the controller up top is the issue. did you cycle all the power off as well? If so, you can access the dip switches and flip it a couple times. Perhaps the connections corroded a bit. The control box is on the curb side. Inside is an electrical board with dip switches on it. the CCC model has a row of 8 switches and 5 is the furnace switch CCC2 has 10 and 8 is the furnace.
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2020, 07:45 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Lacrescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
I did a full shutdown and nothing. Currently traveling cross country so I will climb up to the AC when I get home. The heat pump is handling the cool evenings for now. Ill keep you up to date when I get this resolved next week . Thanks so much for you help.
sdhabberstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 06:26 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
Here's hopping you resolve this. So we're on the same page, you have just one AC unit and the ccc is only showing one zone, right? As you flip through the options, which ones display currently?
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 01:18 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
2006 28' International CCD
Lacrescent , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Finally arrived home. Climed on the roof removed the air conditioner cover to reveal the dip switches. I’ll now reference them as dip sh—s. There were 8 and all labeled about the 4th one that said furnace was up and the remaining down. Pushed it down nothing. Pushed it up as it must of settled somewhat in the middle and it worked. Now I have a fully functioning board. Thanks so much for you help. You saved me hundreds of dollars I’m sure.
This is my fourth Airstream and I’m really beginning to wonder but now that I’m a master airstream mechanic I best stick with them. Ufdah!!! Thanks again.
sdhabberstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 02:47 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 3,477
Glad to hear it worked out!
__________________
Brian
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat replacement jcanavera 2000 - 2004 Safari 7 07-26-2017 08:58 AM
Digital Thermostat jcanavera Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 27 12-28-2009 03:20 PM
Oven Thermostat PeterH-350LE Stoves, Ovens & Microwaves 33 02-20-2003 09:39 AM
Thermostat- heat strip John Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 12 12-12-2002 05:16 PM
Converting the old heater to a thermostat? 61BambiCanada Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 1 05-22-2002 06:09 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.