Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-05-2017, 07:10 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

_ , Texas
Repairing Original AC 1971

We are slowly restoring a 1971 International. Several months ago we turned the AC on (it had been 15+ years since we had turned it on). No cool air came out but it was blowing. Then we discovered that the fan on the outside unit wasn't spinning. We tapped it with a stick and it took off and we suddenly had cool air inside. The problem was, the AC would blow cold for maybe 20 to 30 seconds (I don't remember exactly how long), then it wild blow room temperature air, then cold again.

I have replaced an entire AC system in a car before (all from YouTube videos), and I know being low on freon can cause this and also some sort of switch being bad can cause it. I'm not an AC expert, but I'm wondering if with some guidance here I can maybe figure out the problem. A few weeks ago I replaced the motor and capacitor on my home heat pump/AC. So if anyone here has anything they could help me get pointed in the right direction I would greatly appreciate it.
2.7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 07:49 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1972 25' Tradewind
Willis , Texas
Can you hear the compressor kicking (turning/engaging) on?
72 tradewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 08:14 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

_ , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by 72 tradewind View Post
Can you hear the compressor kicking (turning/engaging) on?
Yes, the compressor cycles on and off.
Old 03-05-2017, 11:22 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member

1988 Argosy 32
Lomita , California
after 15 years the start cap should be changed they dry out, the fan bearings also
dry out change fan motor for a start.
Wolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 11:38 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Granbury , Texas