Old 04-16-2020, 07:22 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia
Mini-split heat pump install in 34’

I have a 95 Excella 34’ that I purchased about 5 years ago. I have recently started a complete interior and system rebuild of this trailer. The project thread is in the Excella 94-96 section and is titled Dan’s 34’ Makeover. I have always intended to install a mini-split in this Airstream and it is finally time to do it.

Why a mini-split? The primary reason is that they are quiet. I can not stand the noise of a normal RV air conditioner. I have always believed that heating and cooling in a home should be quiet. You should not hear it operate. When I built our home many years ago it was important to me that the HVAC system was quiet. I believe the same goes for an Airstream trailer.

How quiet are they. Well, I used to be a home inspector and when I inspected a home with a mini-split, I could not hear the air handler fan running. I know that a quiet car going 60 mph down the road has an interior noise level of about 65 dB. The air handler that I am installing has a maximum noise level of 36 dB. Now that is QUIET.

The most significant improvement in Airstream trailers in the last 40 years is ducted air conditioning. This was a real improvement in lowering the noise level in an Airstream. I don’t know the noise level in an Airstream before ducted air and after ducted air. I know that it is significantly louder than the mini-split at 36 dB.

Another advantage of the mini-split is that it will heat all the way down to -13 degrees. This is a real improvement over normal residential heat pumps and RV heat pumps that typically don’t provide much heat below 40 degrees.

Dan
TouringDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 09:00 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 24' Tradewind
1995 34' Excella
Lynchburg , Virginia