Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-19-2020, 03:40 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2021 23' International
P , California
Installing a Micro-Air SoftStart

I'm a total novice when it comes to electronics but I really like the concept of installing a SoftStart in order to be able to use a smaller, easier to handle Honda 2200 when using the AC. My spouse can't live without AC but I tow with an SUV and have no room for a bigger generator.
Real trouble is that I'm not sure about how complicated this process is. Does installation require a professional?

Any useful tips from someone who has installed one before I burn up my trailer wiring?
viking1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 03:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2021 33FB Classic
2019 30' Flying Cloud
Katy , Texas
With only modest technical abilities, this is a doable project. That being said, the hardest part is not the installation. Indeed, I found the biggest difficulty working at height on the top of my trailer. There aren't too many places to step/sit on while you're up there.
jaybauman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2020, 04:39 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 25' Flying Cloud
Houston , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by viking1 View Post
I'm a total novice when it comes to electronics but I really like the concept of installing a SoftStart in order to be able to use a smaller, easier to handle Honda 2200 when using the AC. My spouse can't live without AC but I tow with an SUV and have no room for a bigger generator.
Real trouble is that I'm not sure about how complicated this process is. Does installation require a professional?

Any useful tips from someone who has installed one before I burn up my trailer wiring?