Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2012, 09:19 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1985 29' Sovereign
Richmond , Virginia
Furnace/Heater Question

Hi all...relative newbie here...have a '85 29ft Sovereign, new propane tanks and regulator, had the lines checked out at the dealer.

Last night, heater (original heater) was working great until one bottle of propane ran out, I switched the valve at the tanks over to the other bottle, which is full, now the heater will not light up. It turns on, but never lights.

Any ideas?

Thanks! It was cold last night :-)
Stonew98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:30 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1965 17' Caravel
1983 27' Excella
Walnut Grove/Laguna Woods , California
Send a message via Yahoo to Jim Foster
1. Be sure your stove lights. If not, keep a burner on until it does to assure that there is propane. Then, try your heater.

2. You might want to use the automatic change over feature built into your regulator so that you never run out of propane.
Past President, El Camino Real Unit WBCCI#6620
Street Rod Builder (see avatar)
Kite flier (check out links below)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bp3nuNtlZcA&t=331s
https://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhee
Jim Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:33 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Have you tried the range to see if it works? Sometimes with the new valves used on the tanks, if the gas is turned on fast, the valve blocks the flow, thinking there is a massive leak in the system. Always turn the valve on slow when you have an empty tank and the pressure in the lines has gone down. To reset the valve, turn it off, let it sit for a few minutes, then slowly turn it on again.