Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2020, 10:35 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Alden Miller's Avatar
 
1993 34' Excella
, Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 231
Images: 2
Blizzard Heat Pump Install Question

Hi, I am installing a Dometic Blizzard Heat Pump on my AS. I have installed the Airstream drip cups on the unit and I see that it calls to use a second layer of gaskets so that I don't crush the drip cups when tightening the unit down.


I can't seem to find the part numbers for all of the gaskets. I found Dometic #3316315.013 which is the main gasket in the center of the unit but I can't find the smaller spacer blocks that are on the outside edges of the blizzard.


Has anyone completed an install of a blizzard that might know the spacer block part numbers or what they did in this situation?

BTW: I did call Dometic and they weren't sure and suggested calling AS. That's next if I can't find out from my favorite AS source.



Thanks! -Alden
__________________
1993 34' Excella 1000
2005 Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel
(No it doesn't have a HEMI in it)
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 07:27 PM   #2
NOAZRK
 
NOAZRK2690's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
Currently Looking...
Kutztown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 191
I had two Blizzard a/c units installed on my Airstream by Tom Schaeffer RV. If JC doesn't have the answer for you, try checking with their service department.

https://www.tomschaeffers.com/Click image for larger version

Name:	20180830_124046.jpeg
Views:	22
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	372498
NOAZRK2690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 05:17 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member
 
Alden Miller's Avatar
 
1993 34' Excella
, Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 231
Images: 2
Thanks! It's all installed and working fine. Thanks to Steve_Bryant, and PTeck from this forum.


-Alden
__________________
1993 34' Excella 1000
2005 Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel
(No it doesn't have a HEMI in it)
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2020, 08:33 AM   #4
NOAZRK
 
NOAZRK2690's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
Currently Looking...
Kutztown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 191
Alden,

As time goes on, I would like to know about any observations you have related to your Dometic Blizzard airconditioner.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alden Miller View Post
Thanks! It's all installed and working fine. Thanks to Steve_Bryant, and PTeck from this forum.


-Alden
NOAZRK2690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2021, 04:06 PM   #5
WKW
1 Rivet Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 8
did you put the spacer block on are not
__________________
wkw 1998, 34' Classic Excella 1000. WBCCI # 1905 '04 Chevy 2500HD CC,LT 4X4 SB,D/A. 45 gal fuel tank. Hensley Arrow, Guided by Garmin 2610 GPS. Twin eu2000i's
WKW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 06:04 AM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
Alden Miller's Avatar
 
1993 34' Excella
, Maryland
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 231
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by WKW View Post
did you put the spacer block on are not
Yes I did.

-Alden
__________________
1993 34' Excella 1000
2005 Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel
(No it doesn't have a HEMI in it)
Alden Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2021, 05:01 AM   #7
NOAZRK
 
NOAZRK2690's Avatar
 
2004 34' Classic S/O
Currently Looking...
Kutztown , Pennsylvania
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 191
I had my first Blizzard breakdown a couple weeks ago. If your A/C starts to run then pops the circuit breaker here's what probably is going on and how to fix it. Remove the white exterior shroud. Remove the gray lid on the Styrofoam insulation box. There you will find the hard start capacitor. On top of the capacitor there are several contact prongs for a resistor. While your on the roof, have someone set the breaker and turn the A/C on. You will see an arc between the resistor and capacitor. With the circuit breaker off, remove the resistor and move it to the corresponding/alternate set of prongs that allows more space to discourage the arcing then test again. When the Blizzards are being assembled at the factory, someone is randomly using either set of prongs so one Blizzard may break down while another will be just fine. Because this "fix" is a pain in the butt, I purchased a new capacitor on ebay. You will also need one or two bars of duct putty to close up holes around the insulation box.where wires go through.Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210526-055429_eBay.jpeg
Views:	17
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	396218
NOAZRK2690 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dometic Blizzard with a Heat strip? meadowlm Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 06-18-2019 06:01 AM
Dometic Blizzard install questions/help Teacher_Man Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 9 06-11-2019 12:10 AM
Heat Pump - Replace with an AC or Heat Pump? A W Warn General Repair Forum 32 10-12-2015 03:18 PM
To heat pump, or not to heat pump, that is the ?? MacDad Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 16 09-06-2014 10:58 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.