Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-16-2014, 02:41 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1978 Argosy 24
MooreHaven , Florida
AC drain question

On our 78 25ft Argosy the air conditioner is a ColemanMach 3 rotary 13,500 btu with heat.The book for the A/C is dated 10-79 so it probably came out of the factory without A/C. Who ever installed it did not connect it to the condensate drain tube,i have determined that the tube is there and runs up close to the A/C but is not connected! There does not appear to be anything to connect it too, the condensate runs out on the roof and down the outside of the body and does not leak into the trailer.Can anyone tell me how they are usually connected? Was there a special install kit? is such a thing still available? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Don
Old 12-17-2014, 12:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Well, I'm no expert on the history of ACs on the roofs of Airstreams, but I can share what I know.

My 1973 had an AC mounted on the roof that was riveted to the roof around the perimeter with about 1000 rivets. I am not sure of the manufacturer, but Armstrong used to make airconditioners that fit this description, so maybe it was an Armstrong. I was under the impression that trailers built in the 70's that had a factory AC would have this type of riveted-on model. So, you might take a look up there on your roof and see if there is a rivet pattern surrounding your AC, or a big patch, and that may indicate that at one time you had a riveted on AC, and it has been replaced by your current model.