Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
No Gas to range

i have a Amana range i bought from Colonial in NJ, before i left NJ.

two years now and just getting to testing all appliances.

water heater is fine now
furnace has some blow back after lighting pilot.
frige i bought is ok on AC. next on list to try on propane.

after temp hook up to 20 lb. tank that i just filled no gas to stove top.
i have a regulator on tank then to direct 3/8 line pipe to stove. this unit was never used, taken from airstream @ dealer, people did not want.

so why no gas thru to any burners?

thank.
jim.
cuyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:55 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
I'm not familiar with your range, but if you have a look at the instructions, they may indicate where the shutoff for the range is. They are rarely out right in the open.

Plus, there might be a shutoff under the belly pan, have a look.

As you probably know, gas shutoffs are open only when the handle is aligned with the pipe.

Last thing: allow a bit of time for the gas to get to the burners. Ours is very slow to have enough gas to light...
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:56 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
arodriguez60's Avatar
 
2008 27' Classic FB
1959 22' Flying Cloud
fairview , New Mexico
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 575
Images: 85
IS the gas valve open under the top cover? I know its kind of a silly question but I've set up and tried to light mine then realized I had not turned it on.
__________________



Avion C11
1959 Flying Cloud
1969 Tradewind
1973 Safari
1983 34 ft Limited
2004 F250 superduty ext cab
2014 F350 longbed superduty crewcab
arodriguez60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 10:27 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Aage

i have a 20LB tank outside door.
short 3' hose with regulator to 3/8" copper line, shutoff at this point.
3/8" copper line thru trailer up to back of stove, another shutoff here 90 deg. elbow 3/8" cpper line to existing factory stove conection with factory regulator here.


arodriguez60
no shutoff that was factory, just the ones in feed line.

only thing i can think off is to many regulators or factory regulator not working.

thanks.
jim.
cuyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 11:17 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Fresno , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 307
Images: 1
If it has been left with open copper fittings I would check for insect nest. Dirt Dobers or Black wasps will build in a open hole.
Also if you are using tow regulators in line with each other you might go only through the one on the stove. I just checked my Magic Chef and there is no regulator.
I would agree with tow many regulators. Not enough pressure to operate the second one.
Wsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 04:32 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,008
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Safety Valve

If you have the new safety valve on the propane tank, maybe the safety shut off is engaging. Try opening the valve just slightly. Don't know why it hasn't happen in the past.
The reason I mention this is I have a weed burner, it's like a HUGE propane torch. If I open the valve on the weed burner too fast, it will trip the safety valve on the tank and shut the gas off.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:11 PM   #7
reo
2 Rivet Member
 
2008 19' Safari SE
satellite beach , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 35
second guess

I think Twinkie might be on the right track. You should only have one regulator connected directly to your 20lb tank, then connect your temp gas line from the reg to your stove. Make sure all gas valves on the stove are in the off position, "if they are not or if you have a leak in your connections it will trigger the safety shut off on the tank when you open the tank valve." Open the tank valve all the way then try any one valve on your stove. Good luck
reo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 06:39 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,403
Blog Entries: 20
I can think of a few times I've called in a professional.

Here are a couple manuals. They may have a number to call for additional information.

AmanaInstall.pdf

AmanaUse.pdf

I have a new Atwood range waiting to be installed but I can't recall seeing a regulator on it.

Gary
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
https://visitsiouxfalls.com/assets/i...uxfalls-og.jpg
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:24 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Gary,

The OP is running a custom rig just to test it. he only bought it recently and wanted to see if it worked.

I like the idea of taking out the 2nd regulator...
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:39 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,403
Blog Entries: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
Gary,

The OP is running a custom rig just to test it. he only bought it recently and wanted to see if it worked.

I like the idea of taking out the 2nd regulator...
Oh, like a bench test?

I guess I'd confirm there's gas after the first regulator at the tank. That should be easy enough to do. If there's gas after the tank regulator and the shut off's are all open, then that second regulator would be suspect. Is that second regulator a normal thing?

I'll walk out with my poacher's light and look at the new Atwood that's seasoning on the floor of my trailer to see if it has a regulator. I guess it'd be irrelevant if it did or didn't:-) Now I'm curious. I'll post when I get back.

Gary
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
https://visitsiouxfalls.com/assets/i...uxfalls-og.jpg
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:48 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Yeah that's about the size of it Gary.

Regulator is only for on the tanks. Reo had it right; the second one needs to come off.
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:50 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,403
Blog Entries: 20
I checked my new Atwood drop in range. It's got a regulator right where the gas hooks up under the stove top. I say don't remove it. It's designed to work with both.
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
https://visitsiouxfalls.com/assets/i...uxfalls-og.jpg
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 07:53 PM   #13
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,219
Images: 25
Oh? Well, chalk up another difference between new and old.

So, back to the problem: system is a no go! Bummer.
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 08:24 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
ok
i will post some pics tomorrow of my testing set up.
i have a line with out the regulator on but i had to find adapters so i could hook up to 3/8" flange. yes i do have operators manual that came with unit. no to calling a professional, most people on this forum just need some insight or direction from people that have been in this situation. if we had to call a professional every time we needed help might as well but new. i have been on my 73 rebuild on and off for almost 4 years.

thanks.
jim
cuyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:03 PM   #15
3 Rivet Member
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 150
Blog Entries: 1
I have a 1972 argosy and the stove when 1 turn the gas on at the tank and go in to the airstream and turn on the burner or burners

no gas ?????? Not sure why .

Should i disconnect the line to the burner to see if the gas is making its way to the stove ??????
Need some help new to the airstream family.
Gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:18 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,403
Blog Entries: 20
Lift up the top of the stove and look at the gas connection point. See if there's a shut off there. Mine has a gas shut off under the trailer where the gas line goes into the belly pan.
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
https://visitsiouxfalls.com/assets/i...uxfalls-og.jpg
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:23 PM   #17
3 Rivet Member
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
SOUTH ANHERST , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 150
Blog Entries: 1
I have check and all gas shut offs are turned on ????????
Gosman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 06:51 PM   #18
4 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Fresno , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 307
Images: 1
Open the burners up and try to determine if you are getting any air out of them. If the system has been out of service the lines may need to be purged of air. It should take around a minute with a couple of burners open if system has no propane in it.

You could have a regulator problem. Break a fitting feeding the tubing off the regulator and see if you have flow. Just loosen the fitting until you hear of smell the gas. You might try switching tanks also. You will need to check all fittings opened with snoop or a soap and water solution for leaks.
Wsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 07:55 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6,008
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Selector valve

Gosman
If you have 2 tanks, there is probably a selector valve in between the tanks. You should check to see if the arrow on the knob is pointing to the tank that you have the valve open on.
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 05:12 AM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Just to update on my problem.
I redid all the lines to the Stove and still no good.
when i took off the 3' line with regulator @ Tank I replaced a line without regulator all worked fine, so i guess it was too many regulators.

thanks to all.

Jim
cuyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Load range D will work. Is E better? blickcd Tires 5 04-10-2011 06:53 AM
TowMaster range E trailer tire tvanwave Tires 8 01-14-2011 04:50 PM
How can I fill my US Ali gas bottles with LPG in the UK??? shinny67 LP Gas, Piping, Tanks & Regulators 7 01-14-2011 09:42 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.