Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-04-2021, 07:47 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
North Ogden , Utah
refrigerating on the road

maybe there is a better subforum for this... I am just learning my way around... the forums, and the Airstream!

On my first trip at the moment... it's pouring rain and blowing it horizontal and heading toward freezing temperatures... wow, an Airstream is an awful lot more comfortable than a tent!

My question: while on the road, towing... do folks leave the refrigerator running? Do you leave your propane turned on? I have the unit set to "auto" so I thought I could turn off the propane and the fridge would switch to 12v, but it was beeping. I didn't shut off the battery power to the trailer... I feel like I am missing some key detail somewhere!

Thanks in advance!
kukula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 07:50 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Which refrigerator do you have? 2 way (propane and 120 volt), 3 way (propane, 120 volt or 12 volt) or electric only.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 08:01 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
North Ogden , Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by azflycaster View Post
Which refrigerator do you have?

That's a great question! I wonder how I would find out? I guess I should turn off the propane and turn on the inverter, and if that stops the beeping, there's the answer!

Do folks commonly leave the inverter running while traveling down the road?
Old 05-04-2021, 08:06 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

2021 25' Flying Cloud
North Ogden , Utah