Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > Refrigerators
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-17-2016, 12:35 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1961 22' Spaceliner
Portland , Oregon
Fridge cooling expectations on gas vs. AC

I'm new to 3 way fridges and just got the Dometic RM2354. I've taken 2 trips so far. In both cases I prepped the fridge by running it on AC shore power for 1-2 days before leaving and made sure it was cold with food in it before departing. I ran it on gas while towing. When we got camp I made sure the burner was going and the top of the fridge door was warm indicating to me that it was running. On both trips the fridge slowly lost it's cool to the point that I had to put everything in the cooler and give up. On both trips, temps were in the 90's with lot's of direct sun on the driver side of the trailer where the unit it installed. On the second trip I tried opening the lower vent door to see if that would help, it didn't.

Now back home, I've had the fridge on gas for 48 hours in lower temps and more shade. It is cooling but definitely not as robust as when in AC mode. I don't think it should matter but the only other difference is that I have it in straight gas mode, not Auto/Gas mode.

My question is, should I expect the fridge to work as well on gas as AC? How about DC which I haven't tested yet (I have a very good AGM battery).

Also, was the high heat likely the culprit on my trips? Thanks in advance.
--Jason
Old 08-17-2016, 01:42 PM   #2
Site Team

2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Tavares , Florida
Sorry I don't have enough knowledge to answer your question but would like to jump on the thread to learn.
Hans627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 02:03 PM   #3
Rivet Master