Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-04-2012, 02:13 PM   #1

1972 Argosy 24
Austin , Texas
Dometic in '72 slowly **** the bed

Hi. I am new to all this and the fridge in my '72 Argosy, which I believe to be original, worked when I plugged it in for around a month, then over a period of a week, I noticed it getting warmer and warmer...then I went away for ten days and it was no longer cold. Quit working. **** the bed. Bummer. It is only possible for me to run it on electric, as I haven't yet figured out how to fix the propane challenge (it isn't working for stove and I don't know why..but that is another question for another time...)
I checked to see if the freezer was level. It was. I unplugged it from the trailer's built in plug and directly plugged it to the power source with appropriate voltage. Today it seems cooler, but I think I may be imagining it. No ice in the freezer.
Is it possible for ammonia to leak out over a period of time? Would I have smelled it? Is repair for these things possible? I am in a back yard and cannot take the trailer to someone....it was a crazy adventure getting it here!! (another story for another time : )
Any ideas? All help is appreciated, thanks!!!
heatexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 02:19 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
If the unit had an ammonia leak, you should have noticed it. It is possible that the heating element has failed. You should be able to check it with an ohm meter and see if it is open.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 02:23 PM   #3

2017 26' Flying Cloud
Alamo Heights , Texas
Welcome to the Forums, it's nice to see more and more people rescuing Argosies. Someday I hope to see another one while camping!