Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2012, 07:08 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1963 19' Globetrotter
Seattle , Washington
question regarding airstream purchase

all,

i've also posted this question in the '74-79 safari forum.

i am a newbie looking for a smaller airstream to use as office or guest room and also take out on a trip once and awhile.

i'm familiar with used airstream issues and found a very nice 1978 23' safari in very good condition with all systems tested working/great floors/wheels/axles/outer skin/etc.

my main question is i remember someone mentioning any airstream made after i believe 1975 or 76 is less desirable because the aluminum skin is not a thick or not airplane grade?? - can anyone respond and let me know what the story is on this.

thanks,
william
groovzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:40 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Do a forum search for "history of aluminum at airstream." Some of the forum members composed a fairly detailed history showing the changes. The quick answer is that before the 70's, AS used 2023 T3 Alclad aluminum, which polishes up nice and is aircraft grade. In the early 70s, they were using 6061 T6, and in the later 70's, 3004 H18.

The thing I notice most is tha Newer airstreams seem much more fragile than the older ones. I just don't see 70's and older trailers with hail damage. So, I am not sure what you mean by "desireable." A trailer made of 2024 T3 Alclad will shine up nicer than others, but if you don't intend to polish to a mirror finish, then this may make no difference at all. I find that the older the trailer is, the more "desireable" to some folks, and the smaller the trailer is, the more in demand. If the trailer you found fits your tasts and your needs, i don't think I would worry about the skin, unless of course you intend to go for a mirror polish.

good luck