Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-12-2019, 06:59 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Driftless Area , Wisconsin
Traveling with Tatay

I thought I’d start a post that catalogs “events of significance” in my ownership of a 2019 Airstream Globetrotter 27FBT (named after my maternal grandfather, who we called “Tatay”). My travel log will be kept on my website; given the audience on these forums, most of these posts will skew towards Airstream ownership and focus on modifying and enhancing my trailer, tow vehicle, or camping practices. I’m a designer by trade and made my living thinking about how to make things, processes and experiences better. I’m also hoping to give back to this community by conveying my successes and failures in a way informs or helps others dial in their Airstream/Globetrotter experience.

I’ll start by saying that I’m an RV newbie. I backpacked for years and recently started car camping with my family, but after a successful camping roadtrip with the kids last summer (and many years of contemplation), ordered a Globetrotter from Woodlands Travel Center in Grand Rapids, MI last August and a few months later, a Ford F-250 to tow it (details on the selection and speccing of that vehicle in this thread - post #108 for the build). The truck arrived in late November and the trailer arrived on Dec 8, though I didn’t take delivery of the trailer until March of 2019. It sat in my driveway for a few weeks while I moved in and modified a few things, then a friend and I took it on a 10-day, 1500 mile shakedown trip to the Great Smokey Mountains National Park.