Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-22-2009, 12:42 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1974 27' Overlander
full time in canada/US , British Columbia
Trailer driving skills

I bought a 27', 1974 airstream this fall, and just having it sitting in the back yard, reading a lot of the threads on this forum, has lead my partner and i to decide we are going to run away from home in it for a bit. As a web designer, i can pretty much work from anywhere, so living the airstream dream full time is the plan.

Of course we have a lot to learn before we hit the road, taking one step at a time. One of the steps is niether of us has actually driven a truck/trailer combination. Rather than practice on it, i was hoping to find somewhere that would give you lessons.

On an initial search, all i come up with is Tractor trailer, or car. From experience, what are people's thoughts about how difficult it is to learn how to drive. Is it just a matter of being cautious inititally until you gain some experience and confidence? or should i try to find someone in the area that can teach me?

Kim
khadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 12:59 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
1982 24' Airstream 240
Ventura , California
Welcome to the Airstream world