Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-24-2020, 01:10 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2021 30RB Classic
Lombard , IL
Just Joined: Advice on "Starter Kit" Items

Newbie here who is ordering a new trailer and researching hitch works and necessary items to get camping.

Blue Ox Sway Pro Hitch works came highly recommended (evidently doesn't make noise, no grease on hands when attaching sway bars, effective when backing). Anyone care to weigh-in on this hitch?

Also would appreciate any quality brand suggestions for:

Surge protector, 50 amp adapter, hitch lock, sewer hose and adapter, wheel chocks/block kit, in-line water filter/hose, tank chemicals....anything else I need?

Thanks!
Greg
Midwest Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 06:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 30' Classic
Thousand Oaks , California
Welcome! This is a highly opinionated topic and a can of worms. You can search the forum and find numerous topics on this topic RE blue ox vs some other brand.

I have blue ox. It works great. Someone on here will tell you that it’s junk and you should only be looking at the $5k system from someone else. Good luck.

As far as hitch lock, I like proven industries. A little expensive but effective.

Click image for larger version

Name:	10423D15-15B7-4004-B8BF-4F6A51835043.jpeg
Views:	95
Size:	199.3 KB
ID:	363841

Follow our adventures!
@airstreamvagabond on Instagram and YouTube
BigSxyWhtGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 06:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
Hilltop Lakes , Texas
50 amp to 30 amp "dogbone" connector. You'll occasionally end up in a site where 50 amp is the only thing available, or the only thing that works.