Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-04-2006, 03:26 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2014 27' Flying Cloud
Viera , Florida
Question Holding Tank Procedures

I'm new to owning a trailer with holding tanks, so I'm trolling for advice, tips, and instructions as to how to manage them.
  1. When do you add chemicals? Obviously you need to add chemicals before use, but what if you're at a site with full hook-up?
  2. Do you need to add chemicals to the gray water tank?
  3. Before putting the trailer in storage, should you dump the tanks and add fresh chemicals, or just flush them out?
  4. With a full hook-up do you keep the drain valves open, or just open them daily and do one big flush?
  5. The chemicals come in 8 oz. bottles for a 40 gal tank, but my new 23' only has an 18 gal black water tank. I assume adding a half a bottle is the right answer here?
  6. Any tips on what to do at the dump station after a day or two of boondocking, or stops without a sewer hook-up?
Just trying to avoid looking like the self-contained beginner that I am
2014 27FB Flying Cloud - SilverCabin II
2018 F-150 Platinum - unnamed

The best part of any trip is when you pull away from home.
SilverCabin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 03:45 PM   #2

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
1. After we dump and clean the black tank, we add a new chemical packet and a couple of gallons of fresh water to disolve the pacet. The moving trailer will mix it nicely. When we are hooked to sewer, we leave the black tank closed and the gray open. The day before a black tank flush, we close the gray to let it build up enough water to flush the hose.