Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-14-2006, 12:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Phoenix , Arizona
High-clearance Airstreams?

Complete Newbie here (both to RVing AND AS). Never been RVing or in an AS.

Big-time primitive camper and thinking about getting my wife outdoors with an AS (they are quite iconic).
Here in AZ, there are quite a few completely remote, beautiful car camping spots where you won't see another person for DAYS (I know, just spent 3 days in the Galiuros Wilderness).
Problem is, some (most) of the good, remote spots require a 'high-clearance' vehicle to reach. I'm not talking really off-roading it, but just roads that are unimproved, poorly braided, whatever.

Are there any AS (trailers I would assume) that can manage these types roads? This would be for the purposes of 'dry-camping' in the most extreme sense.
If not, is it possible to modify exsisting AS trailers to make them able to handle these roads? Has anyone even heard of someone doing this?

Although portions of the "RV-Lifestyle" don't attract me (I have no interest in RV parks, or super-developed campgrounds with hordes of people), I have to say that I am interested in having a AS for dry-camping.

Thanks!
Ravialdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2006, 01:11 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 28' Safari SE
Currently Looking...
Colorado Springs , Colorado
Safari?

Ravialdo,