Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > On The Road...
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-02-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
Rivet Master

1964 19' Globetrotter
South Kingstown , Rhode Island
Camping security, got myself a boot

I'm new to actually camping in our Globetrotter, and have been concerned about it being ripped off from a campground while we're off sight seeing. I know all the arguments, if someone is really determined to take it and on and on... nevertheless, I was stoked to find this

slide-lock wheel boot

got it last week, tried it out today and it fits, and it's not too awful looking on the trailer. The thing is really, really robust- 2" square steel tube, almost 1/8" or so thick, weighs a ton. They were awesome to deal with too, accepting returns if I didn't like it, and it took less than a week to get. I figured the price was okay, given how much I have into the trailer and how attached we've become to it.
Old 03-02-2013, 07:20 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 19' Bambi
mt. Prospect , Illinois
Good move - you don't need to be constantly worried while you're trying to relax. This should provide some piece of mind. It's nice and obvious, too.
robert claus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:09 PM   #3

1968 17' Caravel
Battle Ground , Washington
What is the lock like on it? I always figure that's the weakest point. I worry about our little trailer when we leave it unattended too - it's so little just about anything with a ball could haul it away!

Stefrobrts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:11 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1964 19' Globetrotter