Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-20-2003, 08:49 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Dickinson , Texas
Camping howto...

Since this is my first A/S and RV, I have a few questions.

1. Do I have to park in a space with a certain type of electrical hook up to fit my A/S plug type? Are there adapters that prevent this from being an issue? Do I need to worry about 50w, 30w and all that?

2. Are water connections a standard type hose? Can I just use my garden hose?

3. What do I need to connect to a sewer hookup? I don't think I have any type of tubing that came with the A/S.

I know these sound like stupid questions, but I am a big newbie.

Thanks for your wisdom!
old_silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 09:10 AM   #2
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Connections

Virtually all campground hookups are the standard 30 amp connection that will fit your Airstream plug. Where there is 50 amp service, it is in addition to the 30 amp service in at least 99% of cases. In fact, most campground boxes have all three types of receptical.

You should always carry the adapter to plug your 30 amp plug into a standard household outlet type. You can then plug in at home. I have found a couple places over the years where the 30 amp service was kaput; the adapter allowed me to plug in to the household type socket without moving the trailer to another site. A 25' 30 amp extension cord is also a good idea to carry. I have been able to get service from an empty adjacent site when the service failed at my site.